Eating Korean (Part Two)

“Part of the secret of success in life is to eat what you like and let the food fight it out inside.”  ~Mark Twain

As I said in my previous post, Eating Korean, I am in love with Korean food!  I thought that I would share some of my other favorite Korean foods that I enjoy on a more regular basis.

One of my favs is called Cal-gook-soo.  It is a very big bowl of noodles with tons of veggies (whatever is in season), egg, dried seaweed and greens.  The easiest comparison that I could make with Western food is a really good bowl of chicken noodle soup.  Every slurp is so delicious and comforting; a great soup to enjoy on a cold day.

A Big bowl of handmade noodle soup

A Big bowl of handmade noodle soup

I ate this big bowl of soup before Adrian and I hiked up a mountain!

The other food that I adore and is so popular here is called Gimbap.  You can buy gimbap at most restaurants and all convenient stores.  It is a super cheap meal and it is so tasty.  It is very similar to Japanese sushi rolls, minus the raw fish.  Koreans mostly stuff their rolls with thin strips of veggies, eggs, canned tuna, crab etc. I love, love, love them!

Yummy Gimbap

Yummy Gimbap

Gimbap Eyes

Gimbap Eyes

Me playing with my food, sorry Mom! Ha!  I sort of resemble an alien I think.

My other two favs are Bibimbap and Bibim-nameyeong.  Bibimbap is a super easy dish that is well loved in Korea.  It is a mix of rice, fresh veggies, a fried egg, sometimes beef, which is all mixed together with a spicy red sauce. Bibim-nameyeong is a noodle dish made from buckwheat noodles (more healthy then the white rice in the previous dish), thinly sliced veggies and pear, a boiled egg (good protein), a sweet and spicy red sauce, sprinkled with sesame seeds.  This dish is super good on a hot day as the noodles are served ice cold.

Bibbimbap, served in a fiery hot black ceramic bowl

Bibbimbap, served in a fiery hot black ceramic bowl

Bibim-nameyeong

Bibim-nameyeong

My descriptions don’t really do these foods justice, but it is still worth sharing them with you.  If you ever have the chance to pop into a Korean restaurant somewhere, you should.  All the flavors and the freshness of the ingredients make it an enjoyable cuisine to consume.

What are your favorite foods that you crave from other countries?

Cara signature

Leave a Reply

