Soup’s On!

“As the days grow short, some faces grow long.  But not mine.  Every autumn, when the wind turns cold and darkness comes early, I am suddenly happy.  It’s time to start making soup again.”  ~Leslie Newman

As the seasons change and fall rolls around, the thing I look forward to the most is soups, chilli, and stews etc. I love how easy they are to prepare and how they are so filling, hearty and nutritious.  When I prepare any sort of soup or chilli, I usually just toss in any veg. that I have on hand.  It’s a good way to clean out the fridge.

One of my fav. star ingredients that I put in all of my yummy soups are sweet potatoes. Sweet potatoes add the perfect amount of natural sweetness and lots of fiber too!

Even though it does not feel like fall here in Korea (we are still experiencing hot summer days), my mindset is that it is now fall, at least back at home, so a yummy bowl of soup is in order. For lunch today I was craving curried sweet potato and carrot soup.

In my pot I tossed some chopped onion, garlic and a spice mix consisting of curry powder, oregano, cinnamon and salt and pepper. (It may seem like a weird spice combo, but it’s what I had in my cupboard, and it actually worked quite well)

I let the onion soften for a while and then I tossed in some cubed sweet potato, regular potato, carrots and zucchini, along with some veggie broth.

Cooked until the veggies were soft.  I think I blended about three quarters of the soup…I still wanted some bigger veggie chunks in the soup.

Before blending

Before blending

After blending

After blending

I also tossed is some pulled chicken that I had cooked the other day, just for a little extra protein boost.

The finished product

The finished product

It was so delish and perfectly satisfied my soup craving!  I also enjoyed a little salad on the side, which is not pictured here.

What are your favorite  soups that you enjoy?

Have a super Friday!

Cara signature

4 thoughts on “Soup’s On!

Leave a Reply

