Simple, yet Delicious

“You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients.” Julia Child

I cooked up a very simple lunch today and was pleasantly surprised by the deliciousness of it.

Lunch tends to be my biggest meal of the day as Adrian and I have weird working hours.  We teach from 3-9, so we are never at home for dinner. We just pack lots of fruit and snacks to nibble on between classes.

On another note, not about my lunch, but about teaching in Korea, my heart goes out to these poor kids.  The poor little souls are worked to death.  The majority of them go to regular school from 8:30-3:30 and then they spend the rest of their day in private academies.  They hop around town on mini school buses traveling to science academy, math, dance etc., and the #1, English.  Learning English is highly regarded in South Korea, so all kids work their butts off to do their best to learn it.  They have all these crazy standardized tests in school, where English is the big focus. Hence why it is sooo easy for foreigners to obtain a job teaching English here.

I do my best to make things fun and light hearted in my classroom.  Children should not have to experience the amount of stress that these kiddies do at such an young age…I just want to take some of them home with me 🙂

Anywho, that’s my little rant on the Korean school system, but back to lunch.

I was in the mood for lots of veggies today, so I decided to whip up an easy stir fry.

I chopped up and prepared all my veggies. Red and green pepper, zucchini, carrot, onion, garlic, spinach and cabbage. I love cabbage in my stir fry, it adds such a nice crunch, and it’s super healthy! A tasty bonus 😉

Veggies pre-fry. Minus the cabbage, which was in my freezer frozen and not picture worthy.

Veggies pre-fry. Minus the cabbage, which was in my freezer frozen and not picture worthy.

I was inspired by a recipe that I saw in Canadian living magazine.  The combination of flavors in the sauce intrigued me, so I thought that I would give it a whirl.

The sauce consisted of soy sauce, chicken stock, cider vinegar, ketchup, and sugar (which I reduced a lot).  It was a nice combo of sweet and savory. I was happy that I did not use all the sugar and salt that the recipe called for, as there was already lots from the ketchup and soy and stock.

Here is the original if you want to check out the recipe.

Post-fry!

Post-fry!

Ready to be eaten!

Ready to be eaten!

Hopefully this meal holds me over for most of the day.  I am off to prepare for my classes.

Take Care,

Cara signature

5 thoughts on “Simple, yet Delicious

Leave a Reply

