Exercise Everywhere

As I was walking into yoga this morning I was inspired to write about the simple ways that we can incorporate exercise into our daily routines.

There are many things that are quite backwards and strange to me in Korea, but the one thing they do have figured out is making exercise accessible for all people.  South Korea is covered in mountains and generally the majority of people flock to the mountains on the weekend for the great hiking.  These people are serious hikers and they all wear these snazzy hiking “uniforms,” despite the fact that it is quite unnecessary.

Having the mountains at your doorstep is one thing, but Koreans are also big walkers.  Beside every busy road there is always a lovely walking path and on every walking path and in every park there is a set of workout equipment.  You don’t need any expensive gym membership here, you just have to take a walk down to the nearest park; it’s pretty cool.

It’s an awesome way to illuminate the importance of exercise and make it easy for everyone to use.  And they do get used.  I often see families working out together or groups of older adults.  I think this sort of thing should be adopted in North America.  Not sure if it would fly right away, but it might be a good step in the right direction.

One of the many paths in the city

One of the many paths in the city

Various workout machines

Various workout machines

A good workout and they ar super fun to use!

A good workout and they are super fun to use!

As I have mentioned in some of my previous posts, I am not a running kind of girl.  I am often inspired by the many blogs that I read that talk about training and running races, but it’s just not for me. I do applaud everyone that does run; I admire all you runners out there.

I do not get excited about running and it’s not fun for me, but I still love to exercise.  So I have found many ways to incorporate exercise throughout my day.

Every (weekday) morning I walk for about 45mins and also do approx. 75 mins of yoga.  I love doing this as it energizes me for the day and makes me feel good.

Aside from the yoga, I always try to sneak exercise into my day for a few minutes at a time. It’s easy to make small changes in my routine to be more active and all of it is beneficial.

My Top 5 easy ways to exercise:

  • Walk – It’s probably the easiest and most understated form of exercise, but it’s a great way to stay active.  Walk to get your groceries (the bags on the way home make good weights to lift), walk to work if you can, walk to get coffee (it’s a nice incentive once you get there).
  • Take the stairs –  Your butt and thighs will thank you for this, cause they will look gorgeous.  Push yourself a little more and run up the stairs instead of walking.  It’s a great way to get your blood pumping. I often do this on my short breaks at work.
  • Be active when you cook – When I am waiting for my tea or pasta water to boil I sneak in some exercise moves, such as squats, jumping jacks, lunges, or pretending that I am jumping rope.
  • Squeeze your butt – May sound silly, but it really works your butt muscles.  I usually do this when I am driving in the car or standing in my classroom (as long as no one has a direct view of my butt 🙂
  • Do some easy yoga – Usually before bed I will always do some yoga to relax my body and stretch it out before sleep.  You can do a simple 10 min video online or print off some yoga instruction cards. Polly over at Yoga is Yummy has some really great short yoga videos that I love.

I think the biggest thing for me is maintaining a positive attitude when I am exercising.  It’s better to focus on the good things that you are doing for yourself and not on the muffin top that you need to get rid of.  Make a list of your fav. activities and tie them into your exercise and fitness goal.  That way you will be active and will will enjoy what you are doing.

What are some easy ways that you keep active?

Cara signature

7 thoughts on “Exercise Everywhere

  1. What a great post! Those community outdoor “gyms” are awesome.

    45 min walk + 75 min yoga! You are awesome!! Where do you find the time?!

    I developed a love affair with running when I was 10 years old, and I can’t imagine NOT running. Moving like that feels SO good to my body – and really keeps me sane. I also love long walks – but now the that weather has turned cool, they are not as enjoyable. (I am ALWAYS freezing)

    Thanks for the good tips!

    • I envy your love for running, as I know it is a super form of exercise.
      I am blessed with lovely working hours which give me the ability to walk and do yoga in the morning. I don’t start teaching until 2:00, which leaves the morning to do whatever…I know, I’m spoiled!

  2. Holy cow you are lucky. That’s awesome. I can’t find a gym or any fitness facilities very close to our home here in Japan. There’s not even any in our city except for Curves. 😦

  3. i love these tips, great post Cara! I couldn’t agree with you more. My favorite way to sneak in exercise is to do pushups with my arms on the counter while waiting for my tea to boil or my oatmeal to heat up in the microwave! Each week i challenge myself to do 5 more pushups. Before I know it, I’ve sneaked in an extra 60 pushups a day!

  4. I totally agree with you, Cara! I’m a huge yoga fan and can’t live without it! I wish I was a runner and loved to train and push myself to do marathons, but I’ve never enjoyed it. I guess it’s not for me? But I love yoga and I love how it encompasses everything – you get both a mental and physical workout!

Leave a Reply

