Apples to Apples

apples

When life presents you with apples, you should make applesauce!

I adore the goodness of apples, I probably eat two apples everyday.ย  I am not too choosy when it comes to my apples selection, as long as it has a good crunch…I hate apples that are grainy and mushy…so maybe I am a little picky ๐Ÿ™‚

Fast Apple Facts:

  • On average, each American eats about 19 pounds of apples each year.
  • Apples are a member of the rose family. (I had no idea!)
  • Twenty-five percent of an apple’s volume is air, enabling it to float. (So we can enjoy bobbing for apples!)
  • Archaeologists have found evidence that people have been eating apples for more than 8,000 years (It’s because they are sooo tasty!)

I scored the hugest bag of apples when I was walking home from work the other day.ย  I have so many apples crammed into my fridge it’s almost exploding at the seams.ย  I did not think that I would be able to put a big enough dent in the amount before they started to go bad, so I decided to whip up a pot of applesauce.

Applesauce is so great for so many reasons.

  1. It’s delicious
  2. It’s a healthy snack
  3. It’s soooo easy to make
  4. It makes your house smell fabulous when it’s cooking
  5. It gives you an excuse to use lots of cinnamon!

I always forget how much I love applesauce.ย  I have been using it with so many meals this week. In my morning smoothie, in cereal, in oatmeal and mixed in with plain yogurt.ย  My next thing is to test out this recipe; Baked Chicken with Applesauce Stuffing…I’ll let you know how it turns out.

For this applesauce recipe I used:

  • 5 medium sized apples
  • 1/2 water
  • a couple squeezes of lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar (you could use less or more…I like to let the apples natural sweetness shine through)
  • 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon (If you are a die hard cinnamon fan, add more if you like.

Peel and chop your apples. Toss them in the pot with all the other ingredients.ย  Enable it to come up to a boil and then turn down the heat and let in simmer until the apples are nice and mushy.ย  I used a potato masher to mush mine up as I like it to be a little chunky. If you prefer a smoother texture, you could always use an immersion blender.

Apples in the pot, before cooking

Apples in the pot, before cooking

After cooking...ready to eat!

After cooking...ready to eat!

Mmmmm…applesauce never disappoints!

Enjoy.

Cara signature

6 thoughts on “Apples to Apples

  1. I haven’t made applesauce since preschool! YUM. I am the same way about apples. Love all kinds – as long as they are crunchy.

    I actually took a bite of a mushy apple this morning, and then ended up giving it to my dog. She loved it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Fun apple info ๐Ÿ™‚ I was never one for bobbing for apples as a kid (I guess I was kind of a girly girl), but it sounds like fun now as an adult!
    I’ll have to try your applesauce recipe. I’ve never added lemon before but it makes sense…does help with the color? Looks good!

    • I am actually not sure about the whole color thing. Maybe it helps?
      I ate all the applesauce too quickly, so I did not really get to test that theory ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

