Korean “Sushi” Rolls

Kimbap is one of my favorite things to eat here in Korea.  It’s appearance is very similar to a Japanese sushi roll, but you rarely see any raw fish in these.  You can buy kimbap anywhere in Korea; on every street corner, convenience store, restaurant etc. for a mere 1000 won ($1 US). It is a very fast, easy and satisfying meal.

Sushi rolls have been given an exotic and fancy status in North America, but here in Asia, kimbap is mere picnic or snack food.  Although kimbap holds this lower status, I still enjoy it a lot.  When you order kimbap in a restaurant you are served one big roll along with kimchi (a staple with every meal) and a bowl of seaweed soup; which sounds sorta weird, but it’s divine!

Traditional kimbap fillings include: seasoned vegetables, spinach, sesame leaves, egg, meat, crab etc. But really anything goes.  Kimbap is sorta like a sandwich; whatever you’re feeling, just toss it on and roll it up!

This is my first attempt at constructing a Korean Kimbap.  I decided to re-create my fav. kind, a tuna kimbap (Koreans use tuna from a can, not raw tuna). In my attempt to make these I am also trying to make a healthier version.  I have opted to switch out the sticky white rice for some brown rice, take out the mayo, and add in some more veggies!

I started by sauteing some spinach and julienned carrots with some minced garlic and a sprinkling of salt.

food 065

food 067

I cooked the carrots and spinach for only a couple of minutes.  While they were chilln’  out in the pan I sliced up my other veggies and got the other ingredients organized.

food 069

My ingredients included: the spinach, carrots, cucumber, pickled radish (the yellow strips), burdock strips (the brown ones); both of which you can find at Asian grocery stores, canned tuna , seaweed sheets and brown rice.

I laid down my rolling mat and put one sheet of seaweed on top.  I then put one scoop of rice on and spread it around, leaving some free space at the bottom.

If you are like me I like lots of fillings in everything I eat, such as sandwiches, soups, cereal etc.  So I think I may have stuffed these puppies a little too full, but it still worked.

food 070

I layered all my toppings on top and then started the rolling process.  As I said, I think I put a little too much in, for when I was rolling the little suckers up I had the stuffing squishing out the sides and it was  challenging to secure it together…Oops!

food 071

Ta Dah!

food 072

food 073

Yummers!

Although it’s fat, it’s still delish 🙂

I served this with a Asian Spinach salad on the side.

food 074For the dressing I used: 1/8 cup oil, 1/8 cup sesame oil, 1 tsp. PB, 1/8 cup cider vinegar, 1/4 tsp. brown sugar, a garlic clove, 1Tbsp. of ginger and salt and pepper. I tossed these all in the blender and gave it a good whirl.  I also added in some water to thin it out, but this is not necessary.  Then a sprinkled some sesame seeds on top.

I love making my own salad dressings.  I never really know how they are going to turn out, but this one was great. That first testing bite was a good one and then it just got better.  I probably mowed through the salad in a matter of minutes.

I had so much fun making these chunky tuna kimbaps, I will definitely do it again.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

It’s Sunday night here.  I’s just about to cuddle up on the couch and watch Angels and Demons.

Take Care,

Cara signature

9 thoughts on “Korean “Sushi” Rolls

  1. Yum!! I think your roll looks awesome…despite it’s begin a fatty! I’m really impressed that you rolled that all together yourself.

    Like the new look of the blog, too! Happy Sunday to you.

  2. You know, I’ve never had Sushi – but everyone raves about it…I’ve never been ‘attracted’ to it – but maybe I should take the plunge?! Any recommendations of what to get for a beginner haha??! Your look great though. Take care!

    • As far as sushi goes…for “beginners” I would probably recommend one with avocado, cucumber and raw fish. Maybe it’s called a California roll? I am bad with names. You should give it a try, it’s delish!

Leave a Reply

