A void filled…with Muffins!

 

As I have been traveling around South Korea and Thailand for the past month I have been away from the kitchen and have been unable to cook meals.  In addition to that, I have not baked in one year as I did not have an oven while living in Korea.  Baking is my number one hobby, so there was a serious void in my life this year. I filled that void with other things such as yoga, but let’s be honest, it’s just not the same.  Nothing beats the smells of fresh cookies or brownies emerging from the oven and the sweet satisfaction of creating something uber delicious.

Upon arrival to my parents house on Monday night, I went to bed straight away (Boo to over 24 hours of traveling through 6 different airports), but the first thing I did when I woke in the morning was Bake!  I think one of my fav. things to bake is muffins.  I love creating good healthy and hearty muffins.  So I whipped up some Whole Wheat Pumpkin Spice Muffins.

Oh my goodness it felt good to bake again! I was so pumped to taste the finished product.  Here’s a little peak at what these delicious morsels looked like.

I sat down mid-morning with one of these and a latte…Yummers!

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Spice Muffins:

1 cup canned pumpkin puree

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1/2 buttermilk or plain yogurt

1/2 canola oil

1 tsp. vanilla extract

3/4 cups whole wheat flour

3/4 cups natural bran

3/4 cups sugar (I did a little less and subbed in some maple syrup)

1 tsp. baking powder and baking soda

1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup dried raisins or cranberries (I did a mix of both and added slivered almonds)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Place the rack in the middle of the oven. Line 12 muffin cups with paper liners or spray with veggie spray.

In a medium sized bowl mix together the pumpkin puree, eggs, buttermilk and vanilla. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, bran, sugar, baking powder, soda, cinnamon and salt.  Add the milk and egg mixture to the flour. Stir until just combined.  Fold in the raisins. Don’t over mix the batter or muffins will be tough.

Fill the muffins cups using an icecream scoop.  Place in the oven and bake for about 18-20 mins or until firm to the touch on the top. Double check the insides with a toothpick, making sue it comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.

Makes about 12 regular sized muffins

5 thoughts on “A void filled…with Muffins!

    • Just home for a visit…we will be returning to Korea in the new year.
      I definitely enjoy being home; there is nothing better then the comforts of
      home.

  1. Wow! I just found your site and love it! What an amazing trip you have had and fantastic pictures as well! Thanks so much for sharing! Those muffins look fabulous by the way!

Leave a Reply

