Another glorious day in the kitchen

I have been living it up here in my mother’s kitchen.  Nothing beats having an amazing kitchen to cook in with every ingredient at your disposal.  I acquired my love for baking and cooking from my mother.  When I was a wee one I would sit on the counter and watch my Mom create delicious meals, which inspired a passion in me when I grew up.

I remember at a very early age making my own scrambled eggs, grilled cheese and french toast.  My grandfather always used to say that, whenever he looked after me, I would always ask him if  I could make him french toast.  I don’t really have any recollection of this, but  I guess I thought I was really good at making it and wanted everybody to have some 🙂

There is nothing more satisfying then creating good food, especially when you are making it for other people to enjoy. Through the years I have watched my mother and the joy and love she instills in her cooking, and I am so thankful that she has passed this onto me.

Today’s creations in the kitchen consisted of Black Bean Chicken Chili, Whole Wheat Cornbread and Oatmeal Blueberry Muffins.

Chili’s are by far my favorite fall/winter dish.  You can pack them with so many nutritious ingredients  and they are just so comforting on a cold day.  And in my mind, the perfect match to a yummy chili is cornbread.

My chili pot consisted of black beans, red and orange peppers, sweet potatoes, carrots, pulled chicken, a can of diced tomatoes, onion, and garlic.  My seasonings were chili powder, garlic powder, cumin, red pepper flakes and salt and pepper.  Combined together, this was one big pot of deliciousness!

The cornbread was fabuloso, but I am such a dufus and forget where I got the recipe from.  I will keep searching and post it when I find it.

The blueberry muffins were definitely the star of the day.  They were so moist and super yum. The recipe is so easy and it includes scrumptious things such as blueberries, dried cranberries oatmeal, orange juice and bran.

Blueberry Oat Muffins:

1/2 cup oats

1/4 bran

1/2 cup orange juice

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 sugar

1 1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 egg

1 cup blueberries

1/4 cup dried cranberries

Preheat over to 400 degrees

In a small bowl, mix the oats and the orange juice. Set aside

In a medium bowl mix flour, sugar, baking powder, soda, salt.  Mix in the egg and oil.  Stir in the oat mixture and fold in the blueberries.  Spoon the batter into prepared muffin cups.

Bake for 18-20 mins.  Test with a toothpick to ensure doneness. Enjoy 🙂

Have a super Saturday!

I am off to find a dress for my sister’s wedding, wish me luck!

 

 

Leave a Reply

