Gingerbread Factory

My beautiful sister is getting married in two weeks and I have been commissioned to create the goodie bags to give to the guests.  We have decided to give each guest a little baggie of gingerbread snowflakes.  So today was the day to start testing recipes.  In the upcoming days, my mother’s kitchen will transform into a gingerbread making workshop, which I am really looking forward to.

Today’s recipe is one that I have been using ever since I can remember; originating from a old museum in my small town.  The bonus is that it is super simple and the results are delicious.

First, mix the butter and sugar.

Then mix in the egg, molasses and vinegar.

Mix until you have a nice smooth caramel coloured batter.

In a separate bowl stir together the flour, ginger, soda and seasonings and slowly mix into the wet ingredients.  Once everything is well blended I dump the bowl out onto a floured surface and give the dough a couple good rolls till it is nice and smooth and no longer sticky.

I toss the dough in the fridge for about an hour.  It’s a lot easier to work with when it is chilled.

Sprinkle lots of flour on your work surface and roll out the dough; I usually roll till it’s about half and inch thick. Use any cookie cutter you like and cut away!

Bake your little cutouts for 6-8 mins at 350.  I like mine chewy, not crunchy, so I bake them a little less.

Wellington County Museum Gingerbread

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup white sugar

1 egg

1/2 molasses

1 Tbsp. vinegar

2 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 tsp. ginger

3/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. cloves

1/4 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. soda

 

Hope you are having a marvelously relaxing Sunday.

Take Care,

3 thoughts on “Gingerbread Factory

Leave a Reply

