A Family Tradition…with Pizza

For as long as I can remember my family has celebrated “Friday Night Pizza Night.”  Every Friday night, without a question, we would gather together and share in good conversations and delicious homemade pizza.  We have used the same recipe for the dough, it’s only the toppings and the people who join us, that really changes.

The dough is so so simple to make.  You can mix it by hand or in the big food processor.  The results are always delicious.  I think it is so special to have a family tradition like this.  It is definitely something that I will continue when I have my own family in the future (distant future!).

There is nothing better then gathering with good people and great food.  Friday nights always brought by lots of different people.  Pizza nights were a time that we would invite friends over, introduce new boyfriends or girlfriends; to sit and chat around the table for hours.  Many fun memories have been made.

Morris family Pizza Dough:

1 cup warm water

1 Tbsp. yeast

Mix theses two together so that the yeast can activate.

1 cup flour (white or whole wheat…I usually do a mix)

1/2 tsp. salt

Stir the yeast mixture into the flour and salt.  Stir until combined.

1 1/4 cups flour

Combine the rest of the flour and kneed it a bit with your hands to form a nice, smooth round ball.  Drizzle some oil in your bowl and give the dough ball a good turn around.  Let your dough chill out for a while.  Giving it time to rise makes better results in the end.

Dough ball chilln' out in the oven

I always use a pizza pan covered with parchment paper.  No need for extra oil of the frustration of your dough sticking to the pan!

Bake your pizza at about 425 for about 20 mins…

Veggies chopped and ready to go!

Pesto spread onto the base…mmmm….Pesto!

Little bit of sauce spread on top.

An assortment of ingredients put on top and baked.

The Yummo result!

Delish.  One can never go wrong with a good pizza.

And pizza’s best friend…A salad!

Have an amazing weekend.  Eat good food and enjoy it with fun people!

Take Care,

Do you and your family have any food traditions?

19 thoughts on “A Family Tradition…with Pizza

  1. What a fun tradition! My family never had a specific food we made together – but we ate dinner together every night – and usually the whole family helped in preparation in some way. 🙂

  2. aww i love family traditions, and those pizzas look delish!! my favorite family tradition is when we’re all together, we’ll get up early, make coffee/tea and just sit and talk for a while, and then head down to the beach for a walk 🙂

  3. This pizza looks so yummy! What a nice family tradition to make and eat pizza on Friday nights.

    While I was growing up, my dad almost always made a huge batch of stovetop oats on the weekend for my family to enjoy. Another family tradition is piling Thanksgiving leftovers onto sandwiches the day after the holiday. Yum!

    • If only the pizza could come through the screen…that would be the all-time best invention when it comes to
      reading food blogs…so many times I just want to reach in and grab what I see on the screen 🙂

  4. Holy cow that’s an awesome looking pizza! Pizza dough is hard! I’ve come to depend on my breadmachine. I tried to do it myself, but yeast and I have never had a good relationship without my machine… I like the idea of pesta and tomato sauce. Scott makes a killer pesto sauce.

    My family makes Bulgogi and a rice noodle salad every Christmas. It’s really a fun tradition. I’m hoping to bring home some new recipes so we can make them next Christmas with my family!

Leave a Reply

