A Lonely Baker

It’s easy for me to say that baking is one of the main joys in my life. I consider it a hobby, something that I love to do, something that makes me happy and something that I  continue to improve at.

I love the challenge and science of baking…how one time a cake or cookie etc. will be absolutely perfect and then next, with a slight change, might be disastrous.  I love playing around with various ingredients; seeing what new creation can be made. It’s all part of the fun of it.

The reason why I am currently a lonely baker is that I am without an oven. I have the desire to bake, but am without the proper equipment.  It is rare to find a kitchen in Korea that comes

stocked with an oven.  Sure you can find little toaster ovens, but it’s not the same.

I survived last year without having an oven and then got my bake on when I was visiting home for a couple of months, but now I am once again in a place where baking cannot take place. Tear!

You know when you just get that urge to create something; to bake? I had that last night. I decided to read through some blogs to find something sweet I could create sans oven.

I jumped to Angela’s chocolate covered raisins and Jessica’s chocolate covered bananas. All ingredients were on hand and required only a stove top and a freezer to prepare.  I was good to go and “got my bake on,” if you can call this baking?

Either way, I was happy as a clam, which is what matters that most.  And I was even more happy when I got to eat the final product!

And lucky for me, Adrian despises bananas with every fiber in his body! So I can indulge without sharing 🙂


So if anyone has any recipe suggestions that do not require an oven, please send them my way.  I would be very grateful.

Thanks a bundle,

10 thoughts on “A Lonely Baker

  1. ooh i love chocolate covered raisins and for some reason i never considered making them myself. i need to try this soon! you could always make rice crispy treats without an oven.

    • Good idea…now I just have to hunt down the marshmellows…
      Finding ingredients in a foreign country can sometimes be tricky, but it’s worth a shot 🙂

  2. I don’t have an oven either and I miss baking! There is going to be a dangerous oven-explosion when I get back home… At least Germans are very good at making cake, but it’s still not the same as baking your own! – Vicky(vdubb.wordpress.com)

  3. Hey Cara!
    I was just thinking the same thing! I made a bunch of chocolate covered bananas when I left Washington- we were living at my aunt’s cottage- with no oven! I had no idea what a warm up it was going to be for Korea living! I hate not being able to bake! I was thinking of gorp, trail mix- but that’s kind of boring- doesn’t fulfill the scientific/expiremental side of things… I’m going to look for a steamer, steam baking cakes could be a happy filler for a while too. Anyhow, nice post! I was just telling Scott how I was thinking it must be challenging for you to not have an oven!

    • That is so sweet of you, thank you. The recipe looks great! I have never heard of this method before; you have inspired me!
      I’ll give it a go soon and let you know.
      Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

