2 Easy Meals with Eggplant

Annyeong-haseyo!  (Hello in Korean)

I found some ridiculously cheap eggplant at the little mart near my house this week.  They are Asian eggplants, which are smaller and skinnier then their cousins in the West.  Same taste, same colour, just different size.

I have not always liked eggplant, may have been a texture thing, but now I appreciate their goodness.

My first eggplant recipe was inspired by Katie, who, several weeks back, made a delicious barley salad bowl.  I took her genius and super easy idea, and just added what veggies I had on hand…Enter the eggplant.

Mine included: One lemon worth of lemon juice, a Tbsp. of oil, 2 garlic cloves, Dijon mustard, and a splash of balsamic for the dressing.  Mushrooms, green pepper, carrot, zucchini and eggplant for the veg.  Mix it all together and toss some walnuts on top for some crunch…and dig in!

Today’s dinner starring eggplant was ratatouille.  I love the movie and the meal! I have not had it in soooo long; I don’t really know why.  It’s so simple to make.  One of those meal, even when I am super tired, I can throw together.

Sauté some onions and garlic, add in your veggies and some diced tomatoes, whatever spices you are feeling; and the ratatouille takes care of itself.

I used the same veggies that were in the barley salad, as that was what was still in my fridge.

Simmered up and then plated on top of some brown rice.

My tum is satisfied.

I need more good eggplant recipes…since they are so cheap and nutritious.

Two more days of teaching and then it’s vacay for me.

Happy day to you all.


p.s. I have yet to take a pic of my latest purchase, sorry for the drawn out suspense…it will come, I promise.

9 thoughts on “2 Easy Meals with Eggplant

  1. eggplant’s one of those things i need to follow a recipe for or else it tastes like crap when i make it – these look like good ones!!!!

  2. Oooh, that’s a delicious looking meal! I love eggplant but when I make it I have to make my hubby something else since he doesn’t care for it…so the smaller Asian eggplants would be perfect! 🙂

  3. I love ratatouille!! The meal and the movie as well. When I was in cooking school, there was this teeny tiny mouse that would once in awhile be spotted in the corner of the kitchen….somewhat gross, but he was SO cute. We all called him Ratatouille. I got in trouble for staring at him all the time and not paying attention LOL!

    • Ha! That’s awesome…you can just hope that he was interested in the cooking and
      not being gross and walking over your work area 🙂

Leave a Reply

