Escape to the Mountains

My summer vacation has officially began, so if my posts are uber sporadic it’s likely that I am somewhere camping where computer/wifi connections do not exist.

We escaped the humidity of the city on Saturday morning and headed East to Korea’s largest national park, Mt. Jirisan.  With our motorbike packed up with all of our gear, we were set to have a good adventure.  We were blessed with beautiful weather for all of the days, which makes camping all the more pleasant.  (I can be a crabby camper if it’s raining)

Our first camp spot was nestled in between some mountains, situated on a very large river.

First thing we did when we arrived…splashed into the water.

The river was that shallow all the way across, which made for the perfect place to lounge.

After a refreshing dip we lit up the BBQ and cracked open a bottle of red.  One thing I forgot to add to my list of camping supplies was cups, which is why I look like a crazy drinker in this shot.  Don’t tell me you’ve never drank  straight from the bottle as well!

BBQ veggies for me and grilled meat for Adrian.

Followed, of course, with some roasted marshmallows for dessert.   I stuffed pieces of dark chocolate inside the marshmallow while it was roasting…too die for!

The next day we carried on to a new spot further into the mountains.  It was quite busy and a little hard to find a spot of our own, but we managed.  One of the things you have to deal with when living in an over populated country is the difficulty of finding peaceful places that aren’t already taken over by people.  Aside from that, we did find a lovely spot beside a good set of rapids, which meant a fin afternoon of playing in the VERY cold mountain water rapids.

Please ignore my bike helmet head.

My Little Mermaid impression… “what would I give if I could live out of this water!”

We spent the day doing this, reading our books, eating food…nothing could have been better.

My dinner!

We are now back at home, washing all of our gear/ clothes and preparing for our Japan trip on Friday.  We are taking the ferry, with our motorcycle, from Busan, South Korea to Fukuoka, Japan.  We will be touring around Japan for about two weeks, seeing the sights, eating the food, and trying not to spend too too much money.

Japan can be quite pricey, so we are going to try to balance it out a bit with some camping here and there.  Should be quite the adventure.  We are feeling excited and a little scared about the trip.  Entering into a new country, with a new language can be little daunting, but we are up for the challenge…I think!

I am really looking forward to trying Japanese cuisine straight from the source.  I generally focus a lot of my travels on the food that I eat.  I sometimes judge the success of a trip on the quality of food I have eaten…when you love food as much as I do , it’s just what you do.

Happy week,

Do you have any favorite Japanese foods?

6 thoughts on “Escape to the Mountains

    • No, it was not my dinner, I was just joking 🙂
      And I actually do not know what it was…their were tons of them hanging from the trees.

  1. What a fun summer ahead of you!! I’m a little jealous that mine ends today, and yours is only just beginning! Have a blast in Japan, can’t wait to hear about it!

    Also, I love the little mermaid reference. 🙂

  2. That river looks so beautiful!
    I can’t wait to see pictures from your trip to Japan- that’s definitely on my places-to-go list! I’d love to try their food, too!

Leave a Reply

