Red Cabbage Slaw

Adrian and I are heading to Japan tomorrow for a couple of weeks, so my mission today was to clear out my veggie drawer in hopes that things would not go to waste.

I had a couple carrots, an onion and a head of red cabbage to use, so it was only fitting that I chopped them all up and turn them into a healthy slaw.  I am not one for creamy coleslaws.  I always feel that their is way too much creaminess and not enough fresh veg.

This slaw was fresh and healthy, a perfect side to my egg salad spinach wrap.

In the slaw went:

  • Half a head of red cabbage
  • One small carrot peeled and then peeled again to make thin strips
  • One small white onion (red would be good too)
  • One handful of raisins and dried cranberries.
  • (If I had walnuts or pecans I would have tossed them in as well)

Dressing:

  • 1/8 cup (approx.) oil
  • 1/4 apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp. sugar (honey or any other sweetener would be great)
  • salt and pepper

Mix, combine and enjoy.  I let it sit in the fridge for a little while I prepped my wraps to let the flavors mingle together.

On another delicious note, dessert was a refreshing watermelon slush. The temperature is 38 degrees C today with a very high humidex; something crazy like 88%, so a cooling dessert was a necessity as I was starting to melt.

So easy!

In a blender a tossed in a bunch of frozen cubes of watermelon with a little bit of water to get the blender going…I am not one of the lucky girls that has a Vitamix, so my blender needs a little more convincing 🙂

There you have it; a healthy slushie  that keeps you hydrated in the crazy heat of the summer.

The rest of the day will be spent packing for Japan.  Packing can be challenging for a regular vacation, but try packing for two weeks where everything you bring has to be mushed onto one bike…Eek!

Let’s just say that I definitely will not have an extensive wardrobe.  Oh well, it will be worth it…even if a smell a bit 🙂

Take Care,

4 thoughts on “Red Cabbage Slaw

  1. I have been in love with slaw this summer! So crisp and a perfect side dish. That watermelon slushie looks sooo refreshing, I bet it would be good if you mixed it with a frozen banana!

Leave a Reply

