Japan: The Food

The food we enjoyed whilst in Japan was delicious.  Though, I have to admit, I don’t think I have ever eaten that many noodles in my life.  As a result of the expensiveness of everything, on many occasions (at least once, maybe twice a day) Adrian and I would eat some form of noodles as they were the cheapest thing one could buy.   I am not complaining too much, I do love a good bowl of noodles.  The bonus is is that there are so many different noodles dishes to choose from, such as ramen, udon, soba etc. Yum! And each region of the country has a different spin on the way they prepare their noodles.  It was lots of fun comparing.

It was quite evident on our travels that Japanese cuisine, much like Korean, is heavily influenced by the seasonality of fruits and veggies.  Seafood and veggies are quite prominent in meals, along with rice, of course.  Japanese food is always very fresh, nicely presented, with the perfect balance of flavors, which makes enjoying it quite easy.

Our first real restaurant meal was in Hiroshima.  Hiroshima is well-known for specializing in a dish called Okonomiyaki.  Think of a large savory pancake/pizza loaded with a variety of yummy ingredients, which most of times you can choose.  The ingredients are all layered on a grill in front of you.  The layers included a very thin batter, noodles, cabbage, fried egg and shrimp, all topped with a delicious sauce.

My Okonomiyaki with a little piece eaten out of it.

We ate it right off the grill.

Other food highlights of the trip, as a mentioned before, were the noodles.  Japanese Ramen is so delicious.  It is not your Mr. Noodles from a package, these noodles are super fresh and the broth is so flavorful.  Fukuoka is famous for its Ramen, so was enjoyed two big bowls of Ramen while in Fukuoka (on two different days).

Spicy Ramen

Veggie Ramen in the front, Miso Ramen in the back.

Served alongside with some ginger, bean sprouts, and some sort of marinated leafy green.

This one was from a delish restaurant  in Kyoto.  This was my fav. dish of the evening.  It was a roasted eggplant glazed with two different kings of miso and sesame seeds.

And tofu “popsicles”

After a LONG day of walking we treated ourselves to Tonkatsu. Simply put, it’s a breaded pork cutlet, served alongside a cabbage salad and miso soup.  Koreans totally butcher this dish, so it was nice to have it authentically made.

We couldn’t leave Japan without having some raw fish!

There were lots more meals enjoyed; these are just some of the highlights.

Japanese cuisine is great, though to be completely honest, I still prefer Korean.  I guess I am a bit biased 🙂

It is nice to be back at home eating more veggies and fruit.  I felt so guilty buying produce in Japan because of the price, by the time I got home I was in desperate need.  My poor little body was crying out to me, cravings fresh foods.  I think I crunched into two apples and a pear when I stepped in the door.

Happy Wednesday.



P.S. I had so much success making Naan bread for dinner tonight, stayed tuned for the recap.

10 thoughts on “Japan: The Food

  1. Beautiful photos (from this post and the last) – all the food looks so good, you make me want to go to Japan just to eat! 🙂

    I have a huge love affair with naan…I can’t wait to see yours!

  2. I’ve heard of okonomiyaki, but I’ve never felt like “I NEED to try that” until seeing your picture and description. It sounds delicious! I’d be all over the roasted eggplant and sushi too!

    • They are savory. I think there was a miso sauce on them.
      I just called them popsicles because they were served on a stick 🙂

  3. Hi Cara! I just found your blog, and I instantly fell in love with it because of all your travels – which seems to be pretty reminiscent of my own life! I just went to Japan on a hot springs tour with my mom back in May… we were in the hokkaido area and ate sooooo much good food! oh man! the miso eggplant thing is how my mom makes eggplant! its delicious isnt it? my favorite part about japanese meals is how kabocha squash (their version of “pumpkin”) is so commonly served! have you had it? also, somehow the yogurt in japan tastes so much better than the yogurt here.. its so creamy and nice!

    • Now that you mention it, the yogurt was really good. We had it for breakie every morning as it was fairly cheap.
      I want to try and re-create that eggplant dish…what are your Mom’s tips?

Leave a Reply

