Easy Peasy Naan Bread

I had curry on the brain yesterday, so Indian Wednesday was celebrated.  I had the fixings for a coconut chicken curry, but was not in the mood for a ricey side dish. Thankfully the image of mouthwatering naan bread appeared in my mind.

Naan bread and curry are a match made in heaven; like PB is to J  and like spinach is to a green monster.  Curry is the vehicle to enjoy a good bite of naan.  Nothing beats biting into a fresh and steamy piece of naan.

So I have never made naan before, but I am always up for a new kitchen endeavor.  Even without a tandoori, a grill, or an oven, my naan turned out perfectly.  Just a good hot pan on the stove top will do just fine.


Easy Peasy Naan Bread: (Adapted from here)

Ingredients:

  • 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/4 white sugar
  • 3 Tbsp. milk
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 baking soda (this I added to make more bubbles in the bread)
  • Approx. 4 cups flour
  • 2 tsp. minced garlic (optional)
  • oil or butter for the pan

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand about 10 minutes, until frothy. Stir in sugar, milk, egg, salt, soda and enough flour to make a soft dough. Knead for 6 to 8 minutes on a lightly floured surface, or until smooth. Place dough in a well oiled bowl, cover with a damp cloth, and set aside to rise. Let it rise 1 hour, until the dough has doubled in volume.
  2. Punch down dough, and knead in garlic. Pinch off small handfuls of dough about the size of a golf ball. Roll into balls, and place on a tray. Cover with a towel, and allow to rise until doubled in size, about 30 minutes.
  3. Heat up your pan with a little oil
  4. On a floured surface, roll your little dough balls out into thin circles.  Place your dough on the pan, and cook for 2  minutes per side.  When it gets nice and brown and bubbly flip it over.  I covered my pan to ensure even cooking.
  5. Continue to same process until all your naan are complete. I kept the finished ones tucked in a clean dish towel so they would keep their heat and softness.

Rollin’, rollin’ rollin’

And yes, I do use a wine bottle as a rolling pin.  You gotta be resourceful sometimes.

Tossed into a hot pan…beautiful bubbles start to form

Time to flip it over

Patiently waiting in a dish towel to meet their new best friend coconut curry

Hello friend!

I couldn’t have been happier with the result.

Please try and enjoy this recipe for yourself, I promise you, it will be a success!

The curry was also great, but the naan was the star of the evening.

Now I just have to figure out what to do with the naan leftovers…Ideas anyone?


9 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Naan Bread

  1. Oh wow, does this look incredible! I can absolutely see how it would be the star of the meal. For leftovers, you could turn it into breadcrumbs and make Indian-inspired burgers.

    • Ha ha!
      Good idea, but they would probably taste more like a frisbee than naan by the time
      they would get to you 🙂

  2. Oh man. I need some Indian food STAT. Coconut is pretty much the only thing I won’t eat (its like my Kryptonite) but I’ll definitly give this naan a shot!

    • It really is a shame that you don’t dig coconut! Each to his own, right?!
      My husband is the same with bananas…they make him very nauseous.

  3. Pingback: Curried Coconut Squash Soup «

  4. Pingback: On Fire! «

Leave a Reply

