I am what I eat.

Finally we were blessed with a sunny weekend.  I was starting to be convinced that it was only sunny when I was stuck inside at work and always rainy on the weekends, but this weekend surprised me; it’s gorgeous!

I spent the morning out with Adrian learning how to ride my motorcycle.  My confidence is building, but I still need some more lessons to really “get it.” Koreans are crazy drivers, so I really have to make sure that I am 100% comfortable on the road before I venture out.  It’s fun though, sorta makes me feel like a rebel…vroom vroom!

After the bike lesson I endured a great sweaty workout, relaxed and then whipped up some lunch.  Leftover Minestrone, I love you.  Soups always taste better when the flavors mingle around for a couple of days.  Soup and a salad, the perfect lunch.

My afternoon consisted of me going for a walk, enjoying episodes of Top Chef and eating chocolate banana soft serve for an afternoon snack/treat.

I wish I had more exciting things to tell, but my day was quite uneventful…sorry!

Later I eventually consumed this yummy egg over smoked salmon and grilled potatoes.  I love eggs for dinner.  So easy and delicious.

On another note, I put a new application from Whole Foods on my Itouch the other day, which provides lots of tips on healthy eating and living.  One of the tips that stuck out to me the most was “I am what I eat.” I am aware that there is a direct link between our diet and our health and that if we are mindfully eating the health of our body, mind and soul will follow, but sometimes I lose sight of this.

Sometimes I see food only as fuel, eating healthy and frequently to keep my energy levels up, but sometimes I forget to acknowledge food for it’s other nourishing and health-supportive benefits.  I find that there is a disconnect.  I mindlessly put food into my mouth not fully appreciating it.  Some days are better then others, but when I do take the time to reflect on my eating throughout the day I have to ask myself  whether the food I ate was really a help or a hindrance to my overall well-being.

What are your thoughts on your eating habits? Do you mindlessly eat? Is there a balance that can be achieved?

I am not one to scrutinize every ounce of food that enters my mouth, I guess I just want to be able to appreciate food more and how lucky and blessed we are to have fresh and healthy food whenever and wherever we are.

Happy Eating.

Enjoy your day!

7 thoughts on “I am what I eat.

  1. I don’t scrutinise every mouthful but tend to eat when I’m hungry. My rule is if I can’t think of exactly what I want to eat then I’m not hungry enough to eat right now 🙂 Good luck with your motorscooter. I’ve not been to Sth Korea, but I’ve heard all about the crazy traffic ‘no rules policy’ so I’m looking forward to your adventures (make sure you take your camera with you).
    Your soup n salad meal gets my vote, love the combination too.
    Cheers Anna

  2. I think it’s good to mindlessly eat at times…because although food IS an integral factor in us, it can sometimes take too front center-stage, distracting us from other priorities. I love to enjoy food, but at times, I wish I didn’t enjoy it so much, because…well, sometimes you just need to eat up and digest it and poop it out and get on your way, you know?

  3. Wow, good for you to be learning how to drive a motorcycle- especially in Korea! I know in that when I was in Thailand I was blown away by the driving. Stay safe!! lol.

    That lunch looks great, I love leftover soup, too. Glad the weekend was finally sunny for you! I’m not going to lie, I’m doing a bit of mindless eating right now, but after a hectic day at work with no breaks, I’m enjoying laying in bed and munching!!

  4. Your soup and salad combo looks great! I made soup for the first time in a while this weekend…gotta LOVE the chilly weather! 🙂 I think most of the time people are mindless eaters when their minds are on other things — like when they’re under stress or watching tv, for example. Even in situations when I’m not thinking about what I’m eating at the time I’m eating (like when I’m watching a movie), I’ve thought it out beforehand. For example, to a movie I may take a cut up apple, some dark chocolate, and some air-popped popcorn (I have a big purse, lol!). Then I can sit and enjoy the movie and munch to my heart’s content. 🙂

  5. I love to visit here. The food you feature is always beautiful and your recipes are great. Today is no exception. I hope you are heaving a great weekend. Blessings…Mary

  6. In the university, I’ve gotten into a bad habit of not eating regularly. I often “forget” to eat during the day, and when I get home, I’m too tired to cook – so I just eat some cereal while checking my mail or doing other things, and then go to bed. So, yes – lots of mindless eating here, unfortunately (and non-eating, too).

    I’m trying to pay attention to eating something during the day – between breakfast and supper – as well, or at least having a proper, warm dinner every day. I generally hate packing lunches; but if I have made the effort to assemble a sandwich or pack dinner leftovers the night before, I’m always happy to take it with me in the morning. Other days, I just grab a soy/oat yoghurt or some fruit, but my lunch eating certainly needs some improving.

    Oh, and your chocolate banana soft serve looks so delicious! I keep seeing it on the blogs, but have yet to try adding chocolate to my banana soft serve. 🙂

Leave a Reply

