Vroom, Vroom…

Both Saturday and Sunday mornings were spent practicing riding my motorcycle.  I am not 100% confident yet, but I’m getting there. I guess I sort of had this expectation that I would be amazing right away, but it does take a lot of effort and concentration.  Adrian is a good and patient teacher, so that helps a lot.

A couple more sessions and I should be good to go and take on the craziness of Korean drivers…I’ll be safe, I promise!  Adrian wouldn’t have it any other way.

I was back at school today.  Unfortunately Korea does not get a long weekend, but Mondays are my easiest day of the week, so I get to ease slowly back into the teaching routine.

In my downtime at school I was trying to decide what to do for dinner…if I don’t make a dinner plan before I get home it’s quite likely that it will not get prepared and we will resort to eating out.  I needed to use up some potatoes and I had shrimp on the brain, so I came up with a potato salad with chili lime dressing along with some spiced shrimp cakes and beans.

I will probably play around with the shrimp cake recipe a bit more, but I was in love with the chili-lime sweet potato combo. It will definitely make a return to my plate.

Stack O’ Shrimp Cakes

Sweet Potato Salad with Chili Lime Dressing:

  • 3 Tbsp. oil
  • 2 Tbsp. Lime juice
  • 1 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. coriander
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • salt and pepper.

Mix together in the blender and then toss with cooked potatoes, some diced onion, zucchini and  red pepper.  This can be served warm or cold; I opted for cold.

Shrimp Cakes:

  • 8 ounces firm tofu (water squeezed out)
  • 12 ounces shrimp
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 egg
  • garlic
  • 1/4 tsp. chili and paprika
  • 1 tsp. lime juice
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 Slice whole wheat bread crumbled

Mix together (I did this in the food processor) and form into balls.  Dredge the balls in flour and then coat with egg. Fry em’ up in the pan and enjoy!

Hope you are all having a lovely long weekend.

What have you been up to? Any final summer things that you have been doing?

15 thoughts on “Vroom, Vroom…

  1. What a wonderful meal. You’ve carefully paired two dishes that compliment each other and look wonderful sitting on that plate. I’m intrigued with the shrimp and tofu combo in the cakes. I also love the photo of you on the bike. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  2. Oooh yum! The little cakes look delicious! And your bike is so cool- very brave!!

    It’s Monday here and it’s the first time it has rained in a long time…it almost seems fitting though, as I’m sure there are lots of kids disapointed about summer ending and going back to school!!

  3. The potato salad with chili lime dressing sounds great!

    You’re very brave with the motorbike. 🙂 Some people ride their motorbikes so recklessly here that I’d be afraid to try myself (then again, many visitors say the same about regular bikers in Copenhagen; but what may look chaotic to an onlooker is actually very controlled and fun when you’re biking yourself. The same could be true about motorbikes). Good luck with the learning – I look forward to reading about your new adventures!

  4. Such a gorgeous, colorful meal! And I love that picture of you on the motorcycle. I’ve been getting plenty of early morning runs in while the summer light is still (fairly) abundant. But they’re starting to get chilly!

Leave a Reply

