Asian Noodles with Sesame Crusted Tuna Balls

I knew I had a couple cans of tuna in my cupboard…what to make, what to make? That was the question rolling around in my head at school today.  Lots of recipe searching, but still nothing was really inspiring me.

I was in the mood for noodles, but was not craving a tomatoey sauce.  I have all the ingredients on had to turn anything into an Asian inspired dish (gotta work with what is accessible to me), so my brain created an Asian noodle dish with tuna balls.

Super fast and easy; gotta love that for a weeknight meal.

Tuna Ball ingredients: (measurements are approximate; go with your gut)

  • 2 cans of tuna
  • bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp. soya
  • salt and pepper
  • sesame seeds

Combine with first 6 ingredients and roll into balls. Then roll your little ball friends in some sesame seeds and pan fry with a tad of oil.

Noodle Sauce:

  • 3 Tbsp. reduced sodium soya
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 3 Tsp. cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp. lime juice
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1 tsp. thai chili sauce
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • A little bit of the pasta water (I wanted a thin sauce)

Mix all these wondrous ingredients together (blend or whisk, your choice).  When your noodles are cooked, pour on top and give it a good toss. Then set your little tuna balls on top.

The flavors of this dish were wonderful, but the recipe still needs a little tweaking.   I was not happy with how easily the tuna balls fell apart.  They were a little difficult to cook and were very delicate.  I think I need a better binding substance. Maybe oatmeal? I don’t know.  At any rate, the meal tasted fabuloso and that’s what matters most, I think.

In other news, my new breakfast obsession.

Introducing the Breakie Barley Bowl.

I usually soak the barley overnight and cook it in the morning.  I toss some frozen banana into the pot while it’s cooking and give it a good whip around.  The banana perfectly sweetens this bowl of goodness.  My toppings usually include nectarine, raisins, sunflower seeds, walnuts, and cinnamon; lots of cinnamon! Apples, almonds and peaches have also frequented the Barley Bowl.  This bowl is super filling.

I can easily say that I am a huge snacker.  I eat my barley breakie around 7:00am and I don’t get hunger pangs till around 11:30…that’s a really big deal for me! Go barley! This is in no way to say that I am against snacking. I support healthy snacking full heartedly, but I just try to listen to my body’s signals and eat when I need to, not just when I’m bored. (which I have been known to do on many occasions)

I you want to switch up your regular cereal or oatmeal, try barley.  It’s very economical and it packs lots of fiber to boot!

Enjoy your day to the fullest!

21 thoughts on “Asian Noodles with Sesame Crusted Tuna Balls

  1. I wouldn’t have thought of tuna balls either! I love tuna! The noodles looks great….I love noodles!

    Isn’t a filling breakfast so fantastic? I’ve used quinoa before instead of oatmeal and loved it, but I’ll have to try barley!!

  2. I always have tuna in my cupboard and there’s only so many tuna melts and tuna salads that a girl can have, lol! This is such a creative use for it, I love it! Sounds delicious too!

  3. I saw Rachel Ray make these tuna balls but honestly, they look awful! yours look delicious! your much more of a chef than Rachel Ray and I bet your voice isn’t as annoying! I usually add peanut or almond butter to my “asianish” sauces, i find its a good thickening agent. I would totally eat barely more often but I get so impatient about food, I cant stand “overnight” anything! When I took my baking class in culinary school, I was so irritable waiting for my items to bake!

  4. I eat a multigrain oats mix by country’s choice organic of barley, oats, rye, and wheat which I love – but this post makes me want to try just the barley. It looks fantastic! Especially with all of the delicious toppings 🙂

  5. The Barley Bowl looks great! I love barley cooked slowly in the oven, with cinnamon and non-dairy milk, and topped with fresh fruit. Mmmm! I rarely have the patience to make it that way myself, but I love it when my parents do. 😉

  6. Pingback: Curried Chicken Barley Risotto «

Leave a Reply

