No Oven, No Problem.

Yesterday it rained like there was no tomorrow, which was followed by a nice sunny day today.  I sort of love weekends like this…one rainy day to lounge around and be lazy and one perfectly sunny day where I can be out and about enjoying the day.

Today we hopped on the motorcycle, Adrian’s, not mine, and went for a idyllic ride through the mountains.  There was no humidity in the air and the sun was shining brightly.  What a blessing it was.  I love riding on the back of the motorcycle, it gives me lots of time to enjoy the view and think about life, my upcoming week etc.

I look a little angry, but it’s only cause the sun was so bright, resulting in a squinty face.


More importantly today, it gave me time to think about dinner.

As some of you may know, I often complain that I do not have an oven here in Korea.  It’s annoying, but I try to make the best of it.

No Oven, No Problem!

I managed to make a thin crust pizza and an apple crisp all in the same little pan (at different times, not mixed together :).  When you are a cook/baker without an oven, you gotta get creative sometimes.

I was craving pizza and a baked apple dessert and I was not going to let my lack of cooking equipment get in my way.   I fired up my creativity engines and got to work.  I had previously made some successful Naan bread in a pan, so I thought, why not pizza!  And why stop there? Where there is dinner there must be dessert and I was determined to make myself an apple crisp.

Enter sounds of angels singing from the heavens; the pizza was so delicious.


I kept the crust nice and thin and kept the toppings to a minimum so it would not get too soggy or floppy.  The result was a nice chewy and crispy crust.  For my base I spread on some pesto and  topped it with some brie and mozza, chicken, zucchini, broccoli, mushrooms and onions.

This one above  had the addition of bacon for Adrian.

With a side salad.


To die for. My pizza craving has been fulfilled!

Dessert was just as good, maybe better.

Stove-top apple crisp is so quick and simple, if only I had this revolution sooner.


Apple Crisp Topping:

  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 3 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1/4 of oatmeal
  • 3 Tbsp. of chopped walnuts
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • pinch of salt

Melt the butter in the pan and add the other ingredients.  Keep tossing it around for about 5 mins till it turns a nice a golden brown colour.  Take out of the pan and set aside.


Apple Filling:

  • 2 thinly sliced apples
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 Tbsp sugar/honey
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1/2  tsp. cinnamon
  • Optional: raisins, dried cranberries etc.

Sauté apples in butter over medium heat to soften; for about 8 minutes, or softened to your liking. Stir in sugar, lemon juice, cinnamon, and salt. Simmer 2 minutes.

Serve apples with the crunchy oatmeal nut topping and, of course, some vanilla ice cream!

Dig in and enjoy.  Take a picture quickly because the sweet smell of “baked” apple crisp will overwhelm you and you will find it a challenge not to inhale it in one bite.

Hope you are having a splendid weekend.

Take Care.

10 thoughts on “No Oven, No Problem.

  1. The pizza and the crisp both look amazing!! In a way it’s kind of cool that you don’t have an oven- forces you to be extra creative!! Although I’m sure sometimes it makes things difficult. Glad you had a nice weekend!

    • Ha ha, the same for me! The apple crisp looks divine. 🙂

      I survived one year without an oven when I first moved to Copenhagen – it’s unbelievable how many things you can actually “bake” on the stove top. 😉 When I decided I was going to stay here more permanently, I gave up and bought a small table top oven. It’s really tiny and not the most effective one, but it gets the job done for now. I hope our next place will have a real oven, though!

  2. You are very inventive. Both dishes look wonderful. I’ve got a question. Would a small toaster oven help you in the kitchen. It would allow you to bake at least some things. Just askin’. I hope you are having a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

    • Yeah, that’s a good idea.
      We are only here for a year though, so sometimes I am reluctant to make big purchases in
      fear that I won’t be able to sell it before I leave. Thank you though, I appreciate the suggestion 🙂

  3. Pingback: How Do You Like Them Apples? « Laced Up in Geochang (거창)

Leave a Reply

