Curried Chicken Barley Risotto

Do you ever get obsessed with a certain food?  A food that you love so much that it overtakes your thoughts, dreams and cravings?  Do you ever keep trying to think of ways in which you can incorporate your food obsession into your next meal or a new recipe? If you answer yes to the above, it is quiet likely that you have a food obsession 🙂

I often get obsessed with certain foods.  Maybe it’s something that I see on a blog or something that I’m just constantly craving, but there is usually always something.  For a long time my obsession was green monsters.  I still love them to bits, but spinach prices are through the roof right now in Korea, as it is out of season, so I have had to limit my consumption a bit.

When one obsession fades, a new one appears, and mine right now is barley.  I have talked about it before and shared my love of the barley breakie bowl, but I just can’t get enough.  Barley is now sneaking into my lunch and dinner.

I was recipe searching and was inspired by a curried risotto.  I thought, “why not use my beloved barley?” So I did, and the result was a delicious curried chicken barley risotto.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 cup chopped mushrooms
  • 1/2 sweet potato
  • 2 small Chicken breast, cubed
  • 1 1/4 cup barley, toasted (approx. as I don’t have a measuring cup)
  • 1 Tbsp. curry powder
  • 1 tsp. cumin, coriander
  • 1/4 tsp. turmeric
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 5 cups stock of your choice
  • salt and pepper
  • A squeeze of lemon for some zing

Directions:

  • I started by heating a large flat pan and toasted my barley for a couple of minutes and then set it aside. In went the olive oil followed by the onions, carrots and mushrooms. They were seasoned with salt, pepper, along with the other spices, and cooked together for a few minutes until they began to soften. Then I threw in the garlic and barley. These were tossed together in the pan for about a minute. Then began the risotto process.
  • I added a couple cups of stock to the pan. This was cooked with stirring now and then until the stock reduced. More stock was added in small amounts and stirring/cooking was continued until the barley was tender, about 35 minutes. I then added the chicken and pepper. I made sure there was enough liquid for it to cook for another 8-10 minutes. This was cooked down until the broth was all absorbed and the chicken was cooked thoroughly.
  • Add your squeeze of lemon before serving and any other toppings you please; I chose raisins.

*I think this could also me yummy with the addition of some coconut milk*

What is your current food obsession?  How long have you been obsessed with it?  Does you boyfriend/husband/family tease you for it or give you grief?

Happy Wednesday!

12 thoughts on “Curried Chicken Barley Risotto

  1. I go through phases with food as well. Sadly, right now being pregnant those phases aren’t always the healthiest. I seriously don’t know if I will ever get sick of Mexican. 😀

  2. Today I’ve been obsessed with white rice…just today, I don’t know what it is, but I’ve eaten it for every meal! I also always get obsessed with smoothies when it’s hot outside. 🙂

  3. I LOOOOOVE this dish!!! I love barley..the chewy texture, the way it absorbs flavors well. And I love curry…and I love that you put sweet potato in here! Okay, you already know I LOOOOVE this dish, haha!

    By the way, another great way to use barley: I cook them, store them in the fridge, and then toss a cup into my oats. It just gives that lovely chew!

Leave a Reply

