Pesto Smothered Grilled Veggie Sandwich

Oh Friday, I am so happy that you are here!

The upcoming week is Korean “thanksgiving,”  (Chuseok) so it’s smooth sailing from here.  We have friends from Canada coming to visit us and explore Korea a bit.  I always enjoy showing people the sights and eats that Korea has to offer, so it should be a great week.

It’s funny how a day can drag on forever when you are anticipating something.  I just kept chanting in my head “come on weekend, come on weekend!” I was anticipating the weekend and the dinner that I had planned.  It’s always nice to have something to look forward to at the end of the day.

Today I had a craving for a good sandwich.  I rarely make sandwiches for dinner, I don’t know why, but tonight felt like a sandwich night.  I had some brie, pesto, eggplant and zucchini on hand, which I thought would make a marvelous grilled sandwich.  I picked up a fresh baguette on my way home, along with some wine of course, and got to work.

I grilled up some eggplant, zucchini and mushrooms, smothered some mouth watering pesto on the baguette, layered on some brie and veggies and then grilled it up in the pan.  I do not have a panini press, so I just mushed it in the pan with the heaviest thing I could find in my kitchen; a plate and my huge biceps 🙂   This proved to be an excellent substitution.

I love sandwiches and I love wine; this was the perfect Friday night meal.

My tum is so content.  Now maybe a bit more wine and a movie snuggled up with Adrian.

Take care and enjoy your day to the fullest.

22 thoughts on “Pesto Smothered Grilled Veggie Sandwich

  1. Cara, you’ve made me hungry just looking at that wonderful sandwich. I hope you have a wonderful visit with your guest, Happy Thanksgiving. Take care and have a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  2. This sandwich looks amazing! I very rarely eat sandwiches but oh mannn do I ever want to make this! I didn’t know there was a Korean Thanksgiving- very cool!

    Happy Friday!

  3. Your sandwich looks unbelievably delicious!

    Hope you have a happy Korean Thanksgiving. 🙂 I, too, would be very interested to hear what kind of food is eaten during this holiday over there – is there some typical dish only served around Thanksgiving?

    • The one traditional thing that all the families make together is called “sampyeong,”
      or something like that. They are these little balls made out of a sticky rice dough
      and stuffed with a sweet mixture of red beans. I’m on the fence on whether I
      like them or not, but they look nice. I’ll have to snap a pic of them if I can.
      Korean Thanksgiving is officially next Tues. so I am sure there will be some of
      these little cakes present on Monday at school.

  4. Pesto…smothered…those are two magical words. I KNEW I was gonna like this post! I can’t believe you made such a delicious panini without a press! Awesome. I hit up Trader Joe’s today, so I’m about to see what I can come up with for dinner. Wish me luck…you know I need it! 😉

  5. Gosh, I forgot all about Chuseok! I need to call my parents…thanks for reminding me!

    Grilled cheese sandwiches always go so fast. I always crave another once I’m done with one.

  6. Your sandwich looks great! I will have to try your recipe when I get home!

    Send some pics of your buffet from the fish market! I’m curious what you end up eating! Enjoy your time off, hope you had a great Chuseok!

    Tell Adrian I said hello!

Leave a Reply

