What’s Popping?

Hello weekend, I love you!

My day started out with this…

 

Strawberry and Banana oats with raspberry preserves, PB and coconut

 

Oh the sweet goodness of oats; they warm my heart!

After breakie I did all the good things that Saturdays are good for…laundry, workout, and meeting up with some friends.

With some of my co-teachers, I ventured out to a province north of where we live, into a beautiful national park, to enjoy the beautiful morning.  It was gorgeous; a lovely place for a walk.  We walked around for a couple of hours enjoying the fresh air and beautiful scenery.

A good morning indeed.

Around lunch time I met up with another friend (Adrian is out and about camping this weekend). Today there was a delicious International Food Festival in town, so a friend and I decided to check out the yummy eats.

 

The Greek Food Stand...hummus, greek salad, kebabs.

 

 

Mmmm.Thai! Need I say more?

 

I sampled some Thai soup, Vietnamese spring rolls and a Russian apple cake.  All were quite delish.

After the festival I came home to relish in the fact that I had the place to myself! Love my husband, but I love my alone time as well.

I really wanted to create a fun fall food today without having to buy any new ingredients (going to the supermarket on a Saturday or Sunday is Korea is insane…cart wars to the max).  I wanted to re-create one of my favorite snacks that I would always buy at my home-town’s fall fair.  Sweet and Salty Kettle corn.

I read a couple different recipes to ensure the correct cooking method and ingredients; all were relatively the same.  I started out with the basic recipe, but you could really let your creativity roll when it come to what spices you choose to add.

Some kinds that I will likely attempt in the future:

  • Cinnamon spice
  • Sweet and spicy chili
  • Maple pecan

Kettle Corn

The basic recipe is as follows: (Makes about 8 servings)

  • 1/4 oil
  • 1/2 cup
  • 1/4 sugar (I did a combo of white and brown)
  • 3/4 tsp. salt (or to taste)

Heat the oil in a large pot over medium heat.  Test the oil to see if it’s hot enough by placing in a couple kernels.  When they pop you are good to go to add the rest of your popcorn.  (Supposedly popcorn pops better when added to hot oil, not cold).

Once your oil is ready, place in your kernels and sprinkle your sugar on top. Cover and shake the pot.  Keep moving things around so that the sugar does not burn.  Keep shaking until the popping slows, around three minutes, and then remove from the heat.  Dump the popcorn into a big bowl and toss with salt and any other spices that you fancy.

(I sprinkled on some cinnamon)

Dig in and enjoy!

I love, love, love the sweet and salty combo, and let’s be honest, cinnamon is great on anything!

Such as easy and ridiculously delicious snack to whip up at home, so pop away!

I am off to stuff my face with this wondrous kettle corn while enlightening myself with this past week’s Gossip Girl, One Tree Hill and America’s Next Top Model.  Let the quality television programming ensue! It’s my guilty pleasure, what can I say?

Take Care and enjoy your weekend to the fullest.

p.s. Weirdly enough, October is National Popcorn Month, so get popping and celebrate!

4 thoughts on “What’s Popping?

  1. That sounds like a fun day – I love my husband too, but I LOVE when he has boys weekends out of town. I like the place to myself… and I don’t have to be the first one to the couch to claim my favorite spot! 🙂

  2. I was so excited when I read the title of this post, anticipating it was about popcorn. I LOVE POPCORN!! The kettlecorn looks great, and that food festival looks fun! Sounds like a great Saturday!

Leave a Reply

