Reveling in Routine

I do appreciate spontaneity in my life, but I really love a solid routine.

Sometimes it takes me a while to form a good daily routine that encompasses all the things I want in my day while achieving some balance.  Well folks, I finally feel like I’m there and I’m loving it.

This did not happen in a flash; it has been a process continuing over months and months. But now that I have it, I’m not going to let it go.  I don’t know why, but sometimes it can be hard to balance even the simplest things is life; work, family, exercise, free time and so on. I don’t think I have made any drastic changes; I have just learned how to prioritize my time more efficiently.

My day does not really consist of anything extraordinary or overly exciting, but I still love it.

My day usually goes as follows:

  • Wake -up
  • Shower
  • Make coffee/oats
  • Relax and watch TV
  • Eat breakie
  • Go to work
  • Teach
  • Come home from work
  • Prep dinner
  • Exercise
  • Finish dinner
  • Eat
  • Relax and enjoy the night with the husband
  • Go to bed

I love to appreciate and take joy in the small details of life.  I think the biggest part for me is having a healthy dinner and exercise plan ready to go so that there is no wasted time, money or excuses for not doing things.  I wasn’t horrible at this before, but now I feel like a star 🙂

Speaking of exercise, I have been giving The 30 Day Shred a go.  I always like trying out new workout videos because 1. they are fun and 2. I don’t get bored.  I am on day 11 of this series, which means I just started level two.  Level one was fairly easy for me, which made me feel pretty good about myself 😉 but level two kicked my butt today! I think I my arms/shoulders will be yelling at me in the morning. I guess that’s a good thing? I am liking the video so far.  Lots of fast paced movements, motivation etc.  Which for me means that I am totally interested the whole time!

Dinner tonight was one of my go-to meals.

My quick peanut sauce with veggies and tofu on rice. Healthy, delish and satisfying.  Although satisfying, to me, dinner is not complete without a sweet.

I  snatched a couple of leftover chocolate macaroons out from the freezer to finish of the meal. That’s better!

Off to read some of your fabulous blogs and then to veg on the couch for a bit.

Take Care.

Happy Thanksgiving to all lovely Canadians out there!

7 thoughts on “Reveling in Routine

  1. So nice that you’ve settled into a routine now. That quick dinner looks delicious. I’m going to indulge in a giant Thanksgiving dinner tonight courtesy of my mom lol.

    • I am so jealous that you are digging into a delicious Thanksgiving feast…
      This is my 2nd year not having a Thanksgiving 😦

  2. I have to try that meal. It looks to die for. I am about to go to bed and now I am hungry! Also, I have been wondering about workout DVDs. Let me know how this one continues/if you know of other good ones! – Vicky (vdubb.wordpress.com)

    • I have also tried Insanity…it is really “insane,” but if that’s what you are going for, it’s great!
      It have also tried Turbo Fire, but found the moves to be too fast…maybe that’s do to my uncoordination?
      I’m going to stick with The Shred for a while now…I’m still really liking it. I have heard that Jillian
      also has a more recent vid out that is supposed to be pretty good, but alas, I forget the name.

      Let me know what you decide on…I always love new ideas 🙂

Leave a Reply

