Spiced Apple Butter

My day off from work yesterday was quite lovely.  With my free day I decided hang out in the kitchen (my teeny weenie box of a kitchen) and create something new.

Recently I have had a craving for apple butter and have been combing through a bunch of recipes to see how difficult it would be to make.  Back in Ontario, around this time of the year, there is a big Apple Butter Festival (so good), so I guess I have been wanting to recreate a little piece of that here in Korea.  I found some great inspiration from Fine Cooking and from Christyn at All Ways Nutritious (check out her blog… lots of great recipes and health info.)

Although it’s a bit time consuming, apple butter is very easy to make.  But let me tell you, every minute of peeling, blending and stirring is 100% worth it.  You may ask, why should I spend hours making something I could just buy in the store? Well for one, it makes your house smell fabulous for days, two you can control the sugar and spice amount (extra cinnamon please!) and three, you feel quite accomplished by the end!

I began with one big bowl of apples and ended up with a beautiful pot of deep amber coloured goodness.  The flavors are amazing and the smell alone had me weak in the knees.  Make this! You won’t regret it.  If you spend some time at it, it could make a lovely gift.  Spooned into a nice jar, tied with a ribbon, anybody would be lucky to receive it.

I enjoyed a big dollop on my oats this morning (actually two, I went back for another round) and Adrian spread some on his toast.  Both ways are amazing.  Tomorrow it will top my pancakes!

Easy Spiced Apple Butter: (All measurements are approximate)

  • 3lbs. Apples
  • 2 cups organic apple cider (water works too)
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/8 honey
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. allspice
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • pinch of salt

Core, peel and chop your apples.  Put apples in a large pot with your liquid of choice.  Bring to a boil and cook until apples have completely broken down.

Now, puree the apples.  You can use a blender, I used a hand blender and it worked great.  Add in your sugar and spices, which can be adjusted to your liking.  Bring to a boil and let it simmer, stirring every 10 minutes or so.  I think I let my pot simmer for 2 or 3 hours.  It will slowly start to thicken up.

You will know it’s finished when it mounds easily up on a spoon and no liquid escapes when you drop a spoonful on a plate.  It should be thick like a jam, not runny like applesauce.

So good!

Enjoy on or in your favorite oats, pancakes, french toast, toast, smoothie, muffin etc.  The list could go on!

This recipe gave me about 2 medium sized jars worth.  I am just not sure how long they last!  I am afraid that both jars may be emptied by the end of the weekend…Eek!

I keep dipping my little finger in the jar. Like I said, it’s worth it!

Have a super weekend.

Favorite apple recipe; do you have one?

12 thoughts on “Spiced Apple Butter

  1. hey!! your apple butter looks fabulous…nice and dark. my recipe called for apple cider but we didn’t have any… i want to try it with that and also with less water to get a more concentrated apple butter. you are having it on pancakes too!! awesome. i don’t think i will have any left to bake with, until the next batch is made.

  2. oh wow girl- this looks aweesome! ive never had apple butter but im in LOVE with pumpkin butter!
    peanut flour is like ground peanuts.. peanut butter in flour form! its DELISH! 🙂

  3. Do you know Dorie Greenspan? She has this double apple pound cake recipe, which uses apple butter and fresh apples. I’ve never had anyone refuse a slice of that cake, diet or no!

  4. Apple butter is one of my favorite all-time spread that reminds me instantly of fall! I’ve never tried to make it myself, but your recipe makes it look so easy that I just might have to try it 🙂

  5. Pingback: Cara Eats… «

Leave a Reply

