“Kitchen Cupboard” Pancakes

Heya!

Happy Monday to you all!

(If you are not happy, just fake it and pretend that you are ready to start another week of work) 😉

I imagine, for the most part, that I am about 10-12 hours ahead of you in time.  I am already finished my Monday, and I can assure you, that it is not as bad as you think it will be! Just get out that door and rock it!

Are you one of those people that goes to sleep dreaming about breakfast? Hoping that you will fall asleep fast so that when you next open your eyes it will be morning, which means that you get to eat breakfast?

Well I am!  I think almost every night, before fully fall asleep, I roll over and say to Adrian “I am so pumped for breakfast, you don’t even know!”  (though it’s dark, I imagine Adrian rolling his eyes at this moment)

Which is why I am often sad that this meal only occurs once a day.  Don’t get me wrong, I love a good chili, soup, or stew, but breakfast pulls at my heart-strings! So tonight was breakfast round two.

Doesn’t matter the time or the day, I can always go for pancakes.  Today I think I dumped everything from my cupboards into the mixing bowl.  Into the bowl went flour, oatmeal, flax, coconut, cinnamon, nutmeg, apple, and raisins. And it didn’t stop there…on top went more apples, raisins and almonds; along with some precious apple butter.

These pancakes were the cats pajamas!

I know pancakes are not revolutionary, they are showcased on various blogs daily, but I am still proud of my little babies.

Breakfast for dinner rocks my world.  These cakes make for the perfect easy Monday night dinner.  So take this idea and make your own pancakes tonight! They won’t let you down.

“Kitchen Cupboard” Pancakes:

(All measurements are approximate; I own no measuring tools!)

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. ground flax
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt and cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp. oil
  • 1 large egg + 2 egg whites
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup apple cider
  • 1/2 apple grated (the rest I cooked down in a pot with some raisins)

Nothing new here. Mix the dry ingredients together.  Beat the eggs (use those biceps) and add the other wet ingredients.  Mix wet and dry together…don’t get too excited…don’t over mix!

Spoon into a hot pan, cook, flip and enjoy!

 

Take care my friends

xo

10 thoughts on ““Kitchen Cupboard” Pancakes

Leave a Reply

