A Healing Soup

Hi friends!

Not a super long post today, but I wanted to share a super yummy soup with you.

I whipped this bad boy up last night and the results were divine!

I called this a “healing” soup as it has tons of ginger in it.  I love the spiciness and punch that ginger gives.

And healthy it is! Ginger has many health benefits such as:

  • Aiding in digestion
  • Alleviating nausea and morning sickness (not a problem for me 🙂
  • Reducing gas (need to give more to my husband)
  • Relaxing muscles
  • Helping with congestion.
  • The list goes on….

So boost your ginger intake so that you stay nice and healthy this fall!

Carrot Orange Ginger Soup with a sprinkling of nutmeg on top

Carrot Orange Ginger Soup:

  • 1 onion
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • 2 big knobs of ginger
  • 4 carrots (mine were HUGE)
  • 1/2 fresh orange juice
  • 1 Tbsp. orange zest
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin, corriander
  • Salt and pepper
  • A sprinkling of nutmeg.

Toss the onion garlic, ginger and spices into the pot with a touch of oil.  Let them chill out for a while till the onions are nice and soft.  Throw in the rest of the ingredients with enough water to cover the carrots.  Bring to a boil and let simmer.  When carrots are soft give it a good blend and return to the pot.  Then it’s time to enjoy.

On the side a made a little brown rice salad.

I cooked my brown rice as usual and then mixed in some chopped almonds, sunflowers seeds and raisins.  For the dressing I used 1 Tbsp. of oil, 1 Tbsp. of orange juice, 1 tsp. of honey and salt and pepper.  Good to have a little extra fiber on the side.

This soup will warm you up from the inside out.  I wanted to eat the whole pot, but I knew the leftovers would be even better.  So I will enjoy some more for dinner tomorrow!

Take care, stay healthy, and treat yourself to a yummy bowl of soup.

 

8 thoughts on “A Healing Soup

  1. Yummmmmmm! Amazing.

    I have been stuffing my face with garlic and ginger the past couple days, just trying everything to get rid of this sickness before an eventful Halloween weekend! This looks like a dish I could use 🙂

  2. One of my friends drinks carrot/ginger juice religiously in the fall…she swears it prevents her from getting sick. Your soup looks like an even more delicious version of her juice, I’m definitely sharing your recipe with her! 🙂

Leave a Reply

