Caramel Apples

I had a blast today making caramel apples with my students.  It is so much fun being able to share something that I love with them.  And they get excited about anything that has to do with food.

My lesson this week was centered around teaching the the history of Halloween and how it is now celebrated.  They find it quite fascinating, as they really have nothing here in Korea that compares.  Mostly they like the trick-or-treating factor of it all. It astonishes them children can collect that much candy in one night.

I wanted to make an easy Fall/Halloween treat with them to tie into my lesson, so caramel apples it was.  They have to be the easiest thing to make and the results are sweet and delicious.  The bonus is that you don’t even need a stove top, a little microwave will do it all.

Easy Caramel Apples:

  • 6 Apples
  • 1 Package caramels (approx. 14 ounce)
  • 2 Tbsp. of water
  • splash of vanilla (optional)
  • Sticks

Unwrap caramels and put into a microwave safe bowl, along with the water and vanilla.  Microwave for 2 minutes, stirring once at the 1 minute mark.  You can always add more water if you want to thin it out a bit.

Put a stick through the centre of your apple and quickly spin it through the melted caramel.  Put onto waxed paper and let set for about 15 minutes. ..this can be done in the fridge. Then decorate to your hearts desire!  They are bes left in the fridge for at least an hour after decorating.

 

Dinner tonight was just leftovers.  Though I shouldn’t say “just” because leftover soup is amazing! I always think soup tastes better the next day.  It gives time for all the flavors to mingle around for a while…so much better!  Ginger orange carrot soup – round 2 – with a spinach and brown rice salad on the side. Yum!

Any of course I had a caramel apple for dessert; split in half so that Adrian could enjoy it as well.

Take Care!

 

9 thoughts on “Caramel Apples

    • Yeah, they were in awe!
      One student approached me after class saying (in a very cute Korean accent)
      “Cara teacher, this was the best experience ever!” Too cute!

  1. That is really cool that you did caramel apples with your students. Trick or treating is really a strange thing to do when you think about it from a nother’s country’s perspective!

    Just a question – do you speak Korean fluently?

    • My Korean skills have definitely improved over the year and a half that I have lived here, but
      I am definitely not fluent. I took a language course here and that helped a lot. I can get by
      on the basic…ordering food, introducing myself etc. You can communicate a lot with body language!

Leave a Reply

