Spinach Lentil Soup

I tend to feature simple and quick dinners on Monday nights, and this recipe is no exception.  If you are looking for a dinner that you can just toss in the pot and it will take care of itself, this one’s for you.

This delicious lentil soup is like wrapping a warm blanket around your tummy.  It is so flavorful and comforting, it just makes me want to have another bowl just thinking about it.

And the extra bonus is that lentils are superstars!  The readily absorb any flavor that you throw at them and they are packed with nutritional goodness.  Tiny little lentil seeds are packed with a ridiculous amount of fibre and protein, what’s not to love about that? They may be small, but they are nutritional giants 🙂

Along with barley, I think lentils are my new best friend!

Spinach Lentil Soup (adapted from here)

  • 1 Cup shredded carrots (chopped is fine if you are in a rush)
  • 1 large onion
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. cumin & coriander
  • 6 cups of water
  • 1 cup salsa (approx.)
  • 1 1/4 cups lentils
  • 1 small sweet potato
  • 1 green pepper
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • A big bunch of spinach

In a large saucepan or Dutch oven, saute carrots, onion and spices in oil until tender. Add the water, salsa, potato, pepper, lentils and salt. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 45 minutes or until lentils are tender. Stir in spinach; simmer 5-10 minutes longer or until spinach is wilted.  And Enjoy!

Hopefully this inspires you to use some lentils in your cooking this week!

As most of you are settling down and getting ready for bed, I am off to start my day of teaching.

For the next couple of weeks I am doing speaking tests with all my students.  I am the only English teacher in the school, so it takes me a while to test all students.   Korean students love to memorize, but they hate open conversation.  They are extremely book smart, but when you try to have a conversation with them they look at you with a blank stare on their faces.  I guess that’s why I’m here! Little by little I try to build their confidence.

Take care and have a splendid evening 🙂

9 thoughts on “Spinach Lentil Soup

  1. I’m a huge fan of lentils and this soup looks great. I do have some lentils in the pantry and I’d like to use them up!

    Hope the testing goes well for your students!

  2. I have an aunt who is from South Korea who when first was starting to learn English dealt with the same issues. She is so much more open and willing to express how she feels now. Looking back on it she explained to me that doing personal take home work or in class tests (she went to an adult learning center in NY) she felt confident. But in class there was an element of fear among the students. None of them seemed to enjoy being put on the spot. She said everyone was very respectful and reserved, but encouraging to each other.

    In a small way I could relate in high school. I never dared to speak up in class unless I was told to! Expressing myself in class in English can be overwhelming…doing so in Spanish was another story!

    I wish you best of luck with the students. They are so lucky to have you. 😀

    Oh my gosh. Lentil soup is my favorite. Tomato is a close second though!

    • That’s very true!
      I definitely have to remind myself that it is not in their culture to naturally
      speak out. I guess that has to do with the whole “saving face” thing.
      I love seeing how the students can improve and gain some confidence…really
      makes my job worthwhile.

    • No way? Really?
      Well if you ever take the leap across the ocean, please
      don’t hesitate in dropping me an e-mail.
      There are lots of jobs out there, but sometimes it’s nice to know some background
      info on things so that you get a good position with a reputable boss.
      It is an amazing experience; I hope you guys go for it!

Leave a Reply

