Spiced Lentil Walnut Burgers

I was recipe searching at school today to find another way to incorporate lentils into a meal and I stumbled upon a burger recipe.  The ingredients looked so great and I was inspired.

Who says that the goodness of burgers has to stop just because summer did?

I love me a good burger, especially a successful veggie one!

This recipe was inspired by Mollie Katzen, the author of the Moosewood cookbook series.

She knows her stuff when it comes to cooking delicious, veggie friendly foods.

Chopped walnuts, spinach and mushrooms

Sautee the veggies and walnuts

Mix it all together. Attractive eh?

Form your patties

Fry em' up in the pan

Enjoy with a side of yummy sweet potatoes

Spiced Lentil-Walnut Burgers:

  • 3/4 cup dry lentils (any kind)
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil, plus extra for sautéing the patties
  • 1 cup minced onion
  • 4 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 10 large mushrooms, minced
  • 1/2 cup very finely minced walnuts
  • 1 teaspoon salt, cumin, coriander
  • 1/2 pound spinach, finely minced (optional)
  • 1 carrot grated
  • Freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  1. Place lentils and water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Lower the heat and simmer, partially covered, for about 30 minutes, or until the lentils are soft and the liquid is gone. Transfer to a medium-sized bowl, add vinegar, and mash well.
  2. Heat the oil in a medium-sized skillet. Add onion and sauté over medium heat for about 5 minutes. Add remaining ingredients except the  oats, and sauté 5 to 10 minutes or until all the vegetables are tender. Add the sautéed mixture and oats to the lentils and mix well. Chill for about 1 hour before forming patties (I left mine overnight).
  3. Form patties. Heat a small amount of olive oil in a skillet, and sauté the patties on both sides until heated through and crispy; approx 6 mins a side.

Serve and top with your favorite condiments!

Yum!

These turned out so so well.  Yahoo!

My husband was in love with them too!

One another note, a sweeter one, a whipped up this delicious dessert inspired by Jenna.

Try this, it will knock your socks off! I was a little skeptical about the tofu, but the result was fabulous.  It was so creamy and smooth, one would never guess what was inside.  I asked Adrian what he thought about it, not telling him about the pudding’s  true identity, and he said, “this chocolate mousse is so chocolatey.” I fooled him!

Go check out the recipe on Jenna’s site, it’s perfect.  The only thing I changed was that I used regular milk and added some cocoa powder to make it extra chocolatey.

Happy Friday for me and almost Friday for the rest of you.

Take Care xo

 

13 thoughts on “Spiced Lentil Walnut Burgers

  1. i was just thinking about making lentil-walnut burgers. great minds think alike!! …i made them before, but they didn’t look or seem very veggie burger-like. this recipe looks awesome…lots of veggies! i’m defintely going to try this recipe. thanks

  2. How can I get Jenna’s recipe? Where do I go? I have a growing list of desserts I need to try. This being one of them, along with a black bean avocado brownie!

    Also, I keep seeing your awesome looking veggie burgers and have to try to make them!! But I think, I shall try soon. My parents are going out of town and I will need a back up reserve of food for the week- those sound great. What do you think if I replace the lentils with Kidney beans (I have a costco size bag of them!)

    • The beans would probably work if you mashed them up.

      I think I linked the recipe for the pudding on this page. Just click on Jenna’s name
      and it should bring you to her page. If that doesn’t work, let me know.
      It is so frigging good….you have to make it 🙂

  3. Is it weird that when I make veggie burgers I purposely cook them a little less so that they are mushy on the inside? Mmmm! And tofu with chocolate?! Who would have thought. I need to fool some people too!

Leave a Reply

