11.11

11.11 or November 11th marks an eventful day here in South Korea.


Today, all across the nation, young people and couples celebrate Pepero Day.  This holiday is very similar to Valentine’s in that chocolate and candy gifts are given.  This holiday is named after the popular snack “Pepero” and is held on November 11th, since the date 11/11, resembles 4 pepero sticks. Cute eh?


The majority of Koreans believe that this is a contrived holiday, from the makers of the pepero product, but the company continue to deny these accusations saying it’s just a coincidence (yeah right!)

One rumor as to how is began says that it started in 1994 when a group of middle school girls exchanged peperos on this day to wish one another to grow as tall and a slender as a pepero stick! (height and a lean physique are highly regarded)

At any rate, it’s a cute holiday.  The bonus being that my students bring me lots of pepero sticks to munch on.

How could one not love a chocolate covered stick!?

So Happy Pepero Day to you all!

My dinner was not as exciting as these peperos, but it was still pretty good.  Just a simple whole wheat pasta with a ton of veggies and a tomato pesto sauce.  I was feeling totally wiped after work today and it was the only thing I could muster up the strength to make.

The “sunshine” in my picture is my space heater. Lame eh?

Sunshine at night time, I miss you!


Take care everyone and have a fabulous Pepero day 😉

P.s. Do you know of any other random fun holidays?

10 thoughts on “11.11

  1. Those pepero sticks look SOOO good. A girl i know is also teaching in Korea and she mentioned something on facebook about pepero day. I had know idea what she was talking about. Thanks for the little lesson 🙂

  2. I just found your blog, you cook great stuff! Very jealous of anything curry/spice related! Ironic, I just finished teaching English in Chile, and we have the same blog format! Look forward to reading more!

  3. One of my best friends is Japanese, and it was her who first introduced me to these sticks (I believe they’re called Pocky in Japan). I had no idea there was a holiday dedicated to them – looks like fun! 🙂

  4. I was trying to explain Pepero day to my mom. I don’t think I was getting it across, but then I showed her the sticks on your blog!! Great variety and pics. Are those from the web or did you actually get that many (different) ones on 11/11?? Either way, thanks for sharing! Your Thai looks good, makes me want to do a Thai night one of these days… maybe next week 🙂

Leave a Reply

