Fortified Channa Masala

I don’t know if it’s just me, but I can’t serve a dinner without having vegetables in it.  I get this guilty feeling in the pit of my stomach, like I am doing a disservice to the meal and myself.

So when I decided that I wanted to make some Channa Masala (chickpea curry) for dinner tonight, I knew I needed to steer myself away from the traditional version of this dish and put my own spin on it.

If you are a Channa Masala lover, please do not be offended 😉 The traditional method is delish, I just wanted a little more omfph!, if you know what I mean.

Cara’s Channa Masala:

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 carrot, green pepper, sweet potato, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 3 tablespoons chopped tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 15-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Juice of 1/4 lemon
  • 1 teaspoon ginger, grated

Toss the oil in a skillet set over medium heat. When heated, add the onion and cook until soft and beginning to brown, about 6 minutes. Add the garlic and ginger and cook for another minute.

Add your spices and cook until fragrant.

Stir in your veggies, chickpeas and water and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to a simmer. Season with salt and lemon. Cover and cook for 15 minutes or so.

Serve on a warm bed of brown rice or naan.

Mmmmm!

Eating curry makes me so happy 🙂

Hope you are having a great start to your week.

Take good care.

xo

C.

P.S. What is your favorite curry?

 

6 thoughts on “Fortified Channa Masala

  1. haha, we share so much more than a name – I feel the same way, that dinner without vegetables is just wrong. And I’m all for changing up the traditional especially when it comes to bulking up a meal with veggies! One of my favorite curry dishes is another non-traditional: curried butternut squash and lentils, which is on my blog somewhere… mmm, I totally need to make that again.

Leave a Reply

