Burrito Soup Combo

Hello my dear friends.

I hope that your week has started off with a bang. It’s Tuesday morning here is Korea and I can already feel that it will be a great week!

I don’t mind Monday’s too much, especially when I have lots of leftover food from the weekend.  I love cooking, but sometimes it’s nice to have a break and just be able to reheat something.  Quick, easy and still very delicious!

One of my friends here, a fellow English teacher, has recently decided to change her meat eating ways and is eager to learn how to cook more vegetarian dishes.  This was music to my ears as 1. I love teaching people how to cook and 2. cooking with and for other people is always more exciting than just doing it for myself and Adrian.

I wanted to start her off with something simple, something that she can easily put together as a weeknight meal. It’s probably my all-time favorite recipe; sweet potato black bean burritos.  So so simple but the results are always impressively delicious.

And why stop there? I thought we could make extra use of our time together, so I also showed her how to make a simple squash,carrot apple soup.  Together, the burrito and soup were a lovely combo.

We have decided to make it our Sunday afternoon tradition.  Her boyfriend and my husband can shoot the breeze while we have some fun in the kitchen.  A good weekend activity for the chilly weeks ahead.

Here are some shots of the leftovers, which I re-heated for dinner.

So I need your help.  What are your favorite vegetarian entrées?  What should I cook with her next weekend? It has to be somewhat simple, not overly complicated, as I don’t want to scare her away from the kitchen.  Your favorite recipes ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Burritos:

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 Tsp. cumin and coriander
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. Paprika

Sweat your onions and garlic for a couple of minutes in a large deep dish pan and then add your spices to open them up.

  • 2 larger sized sweet potatoes, chopped into smallish cubes
  • 2 cans black beans (I used kidney this time around), rinsed
  • If you would like you could also add tofu, chicken etc.

Toss the above into the pan.  You may need to add some liquid…water or apple cider works really well.  Give it a good stir, cover and let cook for 15-20 mins.  Get your tortillas ready and sprinkle a little cheese on them (optional) and then put a good scoop of your bean potato filling on top and roll it up nice and tightly. You can bake them to get a nice crispy exterior or set them in a hot pan; both ways work marvelously.

Serve with whatever toppings you like.  I always go for a spicy salsa.  Sour cream and avocado are great too!

 

Bye for now 🙂

14 thoughts on “Burrito Soup Combo

  1. I like to make rice wraps!
    I have a post about them if you want to jump over and take a look:

    http://baconveggie.blogspot.com/2010/11/three-minute-masterpiece.html

    You can put ANYTHING in them and they take just a few minutes to make – so simple. You can even get creative with dipping sauces. I prefer spicy mayo, but my roommate likes to dip hers in peanut sauce. Highly recommended! Good luck & look forward to reading your future posts!

  2. Do we get the burrito recipe!? Looks great.

    My suggestions: vegetarian chili, some filling salad recipes with tasty vinaigrettes, some sort of curry, or a grain dish using quinoa or bulgur. Have fun in the kitchen!!

  3. I have a killer recipe for meatless lasagna. It doesn’t use noodle, eggplant (which IS in Korea!!) I will try to find it and email it to you. It was really really really good! A friend made it for a dinner party, I have yet to try it on my own yet.

    Other veggie meals? I like making spinach and mushroom quiche (maybe hard to do with no oven…) My favorite meal is a big green salad with colorful veggies, throw on some beans, cheese, avocado, corn and salsa and you’re set! Marinara sauce is one of my fall backs… that’s all I got for now. Good luck, excited to see how this ventures on!

  4. Pingback: Red Curry Peanut Noodles «

Leave a Reply

