Stove-top Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Happy Friday/ weekend to you all.

Any fun plans?

I get to experience my first Korean wedding on Sunday.  It’s always fun to partake in a wedding, especially one from a different culture.  I have heard some very interesting things about Korean weddings, so I’ll keep you posted on how things unfold.

Do you ever have those cravings where a certain food just keeps popping into your head over and over again?  Well lately, for me, this has been Shepherd’s Pie.  I know, random!  Maybe because it’s cold outside and I am starting to crave more “comfort foods,” but Shepherd’s Pie has constantly been on my brain.

When you think of Shepherd’s Pie you probably think of a heavy meat, potatoes and cheese, which is great, but I needed to reinvent things a little.  For one, I did not want to use meat. Two, I have no oven to bake it in. Three, I wanted more veggies and fibre.  With these three things in mind I came up with this:

For the filling I used lentils, barley, onions, carrots, peppers, mushrooms, tomato paste, and some red wine.  On the top, for the mash, I used a combo of regular potatoes and yams.  The yams add the perfect hint of sweetness.

Now the pictures may not look that appealing, but that’s not what is important here! I can promise you that this shepherd’s pie tasted divine.

Craving fulfilled!

Served with a little salad on the side.  I love dried cranberries in my salad!

The spread.

Have a lovely weekend 🙂

C.

p.s. What is your most successful reinvented recipe?

7 thoughts on “Stove-top Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

  1. My mom made a vegetarian chili for me and it was delicious. It was so packed with chopped squash, zucchini, and other veggies that you totally didn’t miss the meat. Perfect with cheese sprinkled on top.

  2. I’ve never made, or even eaten, Shepherd’s Pie but for some reason I too have been craving it lately! Can you crave something you’ve never had? No matter, I think that Thanksgiving got me started on it. It would be a great Tday leftover meal. You could use leftover roasted veggies and mashed potatoes!
    Thanks for the great veg filling ideas, I think be making this soon (and keeping it in mind for next Tofurky Day!).

    • Ha!
      I think it’s OK that you have been craving something you have never eaten…
      but now you must try it. It’s delish!

Leave a Reply

