Creamy Cooked Eggnog

Eggnog is a drink that goes hand-in-hand with the Christmas season.

But….I hate it! I really do.  I can’t stand the stuff.  I prefer to call it “chicken milk” as to make it sound even more disgusting then I think it tastes.  I know that some people love it to bits, but I just can’t wrap my mind around drinking a thick drink that resembles the egg mixture I use for french toast.

I think I could consume it in the form of french toast, as all the nutmeg and cinnamon flavors are great, but that is as far as I will go 🙂

So why did I make a big pot of eggnog you might ask?

Adrian LOVES it!

The things we do for love eh?

It is sort of funny making something that 1. I don’t really want to taste test and 2. I’m not really sure what it should taste like.

But, thankfully, this eggnog got a big stamp of approval.  And let it be known that Adrian is not always the easiest of critics; so I was quite pleased with myself.

The recipe was fairly simple to follow.  The only thing that terrified me for a couple of minutes was when my eggs separated and it started to look like scrambled eggs!  Eeek!

I was cooking it over low heat and being very careful, but then, the lumps appeared and I had scrambles eggnog!

If your eggs ever scramble on you when you are making a custard or eggnog, it’s a fairly easy fix.  When I used to cook in a restaurant this would happen to me when I was not carefully watching my custard.  You can either put in ice cubes, cold milk or a combination of both.  Give it a good stir or blend.  If it remains lumpy and you don’t want to waste all your hard work, you can strain the mixture.  But, the ice cubes and milk have always worked for me.  This time was no exception.

Creamy Cooked Eggnog (chicken milk): source

  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 4 cups milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp. nutmeg

Use a pot big enough to easily hold one litre of liquid.

In the pot, beat together the sugar and eggs until smooth.  Stir in 2 cups of milk.  Cook over medium low heat, whisking or stirring frequently.  Cook until mixture is thick enough to coat a metal spoon.

Remove from heat. Slowly add the remaining 2 cups of milk along with vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. Combine until incorporated.  At this point you can do a little taste test.  Add more sugar or nutmeg if you please.

Put into the refrigerator for a minimum of  4 hours before serving.  Garnish with whatever you fancy; whipped cream, cinnamon sticks, chocolate curls etc.

So what are your thoughts.  Are you an eggnog lover or hater?

I truly try to like eggnog every Christmas, taking a little sip from Adrian’s glass to say I did, but it’s still not enjoyable.  I don’t think I will be an eggnog convert anytime in the near future.

I am off to do some yoga.  My muscles get so sore and achy when I am sick, so I am hoping that some stretching will help.  Other things today include: hair cut, birthday cake shopping, winter coat shopping, and a birthday dinner with friends at a delicious seafood buffet. Mmmmm!

Take Care and have a great weekend.

xo

C.


12 thoughts on “Creamy Cooked Eggnog

  1. You know, my parents usually buy it this time of year and I’ve never even tried it! So I don’t know if I like it or not! I want to try making it though, this looks like a good recipe!

  2. I like eggnog (light and sometimes mixed with milk…)!! I tried to make it last year… I don’t know if I was impatient or if I thought that eggs should be cooked at a higher heat… in any case, it definitely turned into sweet spiced scrambled eggs! Ew! I think I was smart enough to make some sort of cake pudding out of it (I hope?) It looked awful.

    Yours looks beautiful! Perfection! I wish I could try it. I don’t think I’ll be trying to make it again this year. Maybe when I get my own place, I’ll give it another shot. But then again, I’m not making over a dozen different kinds of cookies like I did last year either. Maybe one or two…

    I’m glad you’re feeling better! How’s the Korean weather treating you? Hope you enjoy your Sunday. Miss you.

    • Ha! Spiced scrambled eggs…I can see it now. Well at least you gave it a shot!
      I am feeling a little bit better. My mission today is to try and find a winter coat.
      The temp. has been hovering around 0 Celsius and my leather jacket is not cutting
      it anymore!

  3. I’m with ya – no egg nog for me, thanks! I don’t even like regular milk – I think *that* is too thick – so Egg Nog is even worse and absolutely out of the question!

  4. Hate eggnog. Hate it.
    I love milk, but have never been able to stand Eggnog.

    I never thought about using it for French toast though… that actually sounds pretty good. I think it’s the texture/thickness that I have an issue with, so with French toast, that would be a non-issue. Hmm…

    I’m suffering from the cold that just won’t quit, also!! Miserable, isn’t it? 😦

    ~

Leave a Reply

