Birthday Festivities

Another year older!

I am quite happy about it.  I feel so blessed in my life thus far, I look forward to the years to come.  I am so so blessed for my wonderful family (I miss you!), my dear friends, my life in Korea, and to good health (despite my lingering cold, which is pretty minor).

Life is such an adventure and I look forward to what this year bring.

I had a fabulous birthday weekend.  I will share some pics that will hopefully sum it up. Saturday night we ventured out to a delicious seafood buffet. Endless sushi, salads, fruit etc.  I was so excited by it all I forgot to take a picture of my meal…oops! But I did remember in time for my dessert 😉

A little strawberry cheesecake bite. There was also an ice cream bar.  I would have been a fool not to enjoy it as well.   Chocolate vanilla swirl..Mmmm!

After dinner we headed downtown to a swanky cocktail bar.  The atmosphere and servers were great.  They gave us tons of free food (not that any of us were hungry after the buffet) and two free birthday drinks for me. So nice! Who wouldn’t like a place where you get to relax on a ginormous couch? Mojito on the house…even better!

We have amazing friends here in Korea.  We had a lovely night.

On Sunday morning, my actual birthday, I woke up to a fantastic surprise.

Adrian made me this cute card and some delicious french toast.  One slice regular and one eggnog.  Now, as I made myself clear in my last post, I really don’t like drinking eggnog, but eating it in the form of french toast, now that’s a different story.  It was delicious!

Happy Birthday French Toast

I have been on the hunt for a winter jacket for a couple of weeks and am still unsuccessful. But while we were downtown shopping we did warm up with a big bowl of Japanese Ramen.  We have not had ramen since we were in Japan this past summer, so it was a nice treat.

For my birthday dinner a whipped up a big pot of winter vegetable minestrone.   I guess I am on a soup kick, which probably has something to do with my cold.  Nothing beats a good bowl of soup when you are sick.

One big pot = lots of yummy leftovers!

One more birthday cake, don’t mind if I do!

Vanilla cheesecake with chocolate drizzle.

Delish!

I used to always request that my Mom make me a chocolate marble cheesecake on my birthday.  This was nowhere near as good as hers, but it did the trick.

Don’t worry, I only devoured one piece.  Lots leftover.  It will be the birthday cake that just keeps on giving 🙂

Hope you all had as fun a weekend as I did.

Take good care and have a wonderful start to your week.

xo

p.s. Do you have a special cake that you always request on your birthday?

15 thoughts on “Birthday Festivities

  1. CARA! Happy Birthday! (It’s still your birthday over here in Alaska!) It looks like you had a great time, I am so glad. Your multiple cakes look yummy and your minestrone soup makes my tummy grumble! Did Adrian make one of the french toast into a heart? It looks like it, but it’s hard to tell with the apples on top 🙂

    I don’t really have a birthday cake tradition… it makes me feel like I should make one. My dad does, he always has a pecan pie (not store bought- my mother has come up with the “perfect” recipe that stores can never replicate!)

    • Some of the men requested that we did, but myself and the other girls
      protested against it. Karaoke is cool sometimes, but I have to be in
      the right mood for it.

  2. Happy Birthday!
    I spotted the heart-shaped french toast, as well. Very cute. 🙂

    For my birthday, I always request a cake from a local bakery here in Charlotte, called Tizzerts. Mmm… Espresso cake or Coconut Cloud cake…

    It’s funny, even growing up I always preferred store-bought cakes to the cakes my Mom would make. She never really deviated from the cake mix in a box formula, with buttercream frosting. It’s okay, but not really my thing.

    ~

  3. Happy Birthday Cara! Sounds like you had a wonderful celebration. My birthday cake request the past few years is one gluttonous creation from a local bakery (actually, you could call it the “family cake” since it also made appearances at our wedding, a bar mitzvah, and several other birthdays!). It’s a chocolate cake layered with caramel and cannoli filling, iced in chocolate buttercream and covered in ganache. And I don’t want to admit how much of it I’m capable of eating in a single sitting!

    • My word that sounds like one delicious cake.
      I can see why you keep requesting it just from
      you description. Next time you have it take a picture,
      I want to see it 🙂

  4. Happy Birthday! It looks like you had a great time – I love your little candle! My mama always made me her famous chocolate cake for my birthday – it is the BEST!

  5. Happy birthday, Cara!!! I’m so glad you had a great birthday surrounded by wonderful people….and freaking good food!

    I’m not a cake person, so I never request for cake..unless it’s rice cakes. Tteok rules!

Leave a Reply

