Loaded Cabbage Soup

I’m on the home stretch!

I just entered my last week of teaching before my winter holidays.  As most people are just returning to their jobs, mine is winding down.  Only a few more days and I am free till that start of March.  Can you believe it? I feel utterly blessed with my job and the vacation time that I am awarded.

I have my bikinis and flip-flops ready to go, as Adrian and I are heading to the Philippines with our two other great couple friends.  I cannot wait to be transported out of the cold and onto a white sandy beach…sorry to rub it in, please don’t hate me for it!

But for now, I must endure the cold for a little longer and what better way than to make a huge pot of soup?!

I still have about a quarter left of my ginormo cabbage, but this soup put a pretty big dent in it.  I was originally planning on making veggie cabbage rolls, which I will do another time, but was feeling way too lazy.  Chopping and throwing stuff into a pot is a lot easier and less tedious.

Into the mix went onions, garlic, cabbage, canned tomato, acorn squash, red and yellow peppers and zucchini.  Spices included some oregano, cumin, coriander and hot sauce.  Fairly simple, but oh so satisfying.

Some of my other yummy dinners over the weekend included:

1. Another round of homemade Bibimbap and another good reason to eat some kimchi.  It was just as delicious as the last time last time.

2. This mix of bean sprouts, pork, cuttlefish and squid.  I know it sounds and probably looks really weird to you, but I promise it’s yumtastic.  It’s a flavorful spicy/ sweet mix.  I am not exactly sure of the Korean name of this dish…Kong-bul, or something like that, but regardless of that it was great.

Pre-cooked

Post-cooked and half consumed (by four, not just myself!)

I love bean sprouts to bits.  I could probably eat a whole bag myself.  I kept sneaking my chopsticks into the communal dish pulling all the bean sprouts to my side…sorry Justyna!

On another note, I have been working out to several new workout dvds as of late, maybe 5 0r 6, so stay tuned for a post about my favs.  If you need some new workout inspiration this may be the place to find it.

Happy Monday to you all.

xo

C.

4 thoughts on “Loaded Cabbage Soup

  1. Oooh, you’re the best! Another cabbage recipe, and it’s soup! I can’t get enough of soup lately….after the holidays I’ve been eating tons of soup and salads….need some veggies in my life!

Leave a Reply

