My Top 5 Workout DVDs + a Giveaway

I like working out, but I wouldn’t go as far to say that I love it. (As I type this I tremble in shame 😦

In high school and university I would spend countless hours at the gym.  I liked the feeling after I completed my workouts and the results that they gave me, but I dreaded the time that I had to clock in on the elliptical, treadmill or what have you.  I was so bored and uninspired.

After university, once Adrian and I moved to Korea, I fell in love with yoga.  Last year my yoga studio was right around the corner from my school and I practiced there about 5 times a week.  I was in Love!  When I returned to Korea this year, I was so disappointed to find out that there were NO yoga studios that were convenient for me too attend.  It almost felt like a break-up, I was heartbroken.  I still practice yoga on my own, but it’s just not the same.  I love the guidance and the extra challenge that a yoga teacher can provide.

After I came to terms with this I knew I had to adopt a new form of exercise.  There was a fitness facility down the street from my apartment, so I decided to give it a go.  What was a thinking? I already knew that I hated going to the gym…I guess I thought I could make myself love it, but boy was I wrong.  After I month I stopped going.  Total Fail!

I was not just going to give up though.  I knew that there was something out there for me.  I did a lot of research on the internet and through blogs and decided to try some workout videos.  I have been skeptical about workout dvds in the past, but my mind set now has changed.  I have found a new love.

My workouts are not always perfect and some days I still feel bored, but there’s a vast improvement.  The great thing about workout dvds, for me at least, is that they limit the excuses that I can make not to exercise.  Bad weather, laziness of leaving the house, having to look cute, all get thrown out the window.  The workouts are often very efficient and use your time wisely so that you can achieve great results in the shortest amount of time.  I’ll be honest, I do not want to spend an hour and a half working out after coming home from work!

With all that being said (sorry to blab on), and if you are still with me, here are my top 5 favorite workout DVDs in no particular order:

  1. Insanity: The Ultimate Cardio Workout and Fitness DVD Program

After reading much blog hype about Insanity I thought I would try it out.  This is the first one that I tried.  Man alive! This really is one insane workout; the title does not lie.  The workouts are a series of HIIT, plyometrics, and strength training.  Insanity is well instructed and it keeps you motivated.  Although you feel like death at the end, that subsides that then you feel great 🙂  The only negative for me one this one is that my knees got a little sore from all the jump training (even with a mat) and some of the workouts were too long.  Other then that I would recommend it to anyone that wants a challenge.

2. Jillian Michaels – 30 Day Shred

This was the second video that I tried.  I really liked this one.  The biggest reason for me was the length of the workouts.  25-30 minutes is fabulous.  Jillian is super encouraging and motivational.  There is good variety between the three levels and the exercises are super easy to follow.  There are also many modifications to all the movements that can be made.  After doing this for 30 days (not all in a row) I definitely noticed results.  My stomach muscles were tighter and I actually saw definition in my biceps and triceps.   The only negative for me was that on day 9 or 10 of each level,  it was starting to get a little repetitive, but that’s pretty minor.

3. Jillian Michaels: No More Trouble Zones

After completing The Shred I wanted to find more from Ms. Michaels and came across this one.  It’s another winner in my books.  It is a great strength training video.  I love weight training and this video targets all the right spots.  At some points your arms feel like they are going to fall off, but then Jillian moves onto to something else to give that muscle group as rest.  The focus is muscle strengthening, but the movements keep your heart rate up and give you a good cardio workout as well.  The workout is about 45 mins and it flys by.

4. Workout: One-On-One Training with Jackie

Do you remember this show on Bravo network? I watched the 1st season.  This is a fairly good overall workout.  There are 3 sections; upper body, lower body and abs, each segment is around 15 minutes. You can do them separately or put them all together.  I prefer the combo of all three.  The focus is on strength training and muscle toning, with cardio interspersed.  The ab section is the most challenging for me; I think I need heavier weights to make the other segments more effective.  The only negative is some cheesy smiles and weird conversations between Jackie and her trainers.

5. Jillian Michaels: Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism

Another Jillian Michaels.  I really find her teaching style encouraging and her training methods are quite effective.  Everything is done circuit style, same as the No More Trouble Zones, so everything is targeted effectively.  Where the No More Trouble Zones was focused on weights, Banish the Fat is focused on cardio and plyometrics.  Her circuits are well planned in that one circuit will be intense cardio and the next could be core work on the floor to bring the heart rate back down a bit.  I like doing this video and the No More Trouble Zones on alternating days.

Hopefully my top 5 gave you some inspiration.  Maybe you can give something new a try to spice up your workout regime.  Having a bunch of workout DVDs that I like is great so that each day I can do something different, which keeps me interested and keeps my muscles guessing; a win win!

Workout DVD Giveaway

I want you to tell me what your favorite workout video is or one of my top 5 that you would like to try.  Please comment below and I will choose one winner on Saturday January 15th.  The winner will receive one of my top 5 favs (minus Insanity, as I am not made of money 🙂 If the winner by chance owns all of them, then together we will choose another.  Sound good?

Take Care,

C.

23 thoughts on “My Top 5 Workout DVDs + a Giveaway

  1. I used to feel the same way about workout DVDs: that none of them could possibly be “tough enough” for someone so used to working out like myself! Then I discovered Cathe Friedrich. It’s pretty challenging, no matter how many times I do it, and I love having the option of doing something at home when I can’t get to the gym or just want to do something different. Her HIIT series is awesome.

  2. I recently jumped on the Jillian bandwagon as well and am pretty happy with Shred and her kettlebell workout (I am a super-harsh critic of teachers and trainers ;)). Insanity sounds awesome! Gotta try that one.

    • She totally does not yell, don’t worry! I think I would hate that. She is so very different than how she is on TV.
      She is super positive and really encouraging.

  3. Soo glad you posted this. I’ve been in a huuuge workout slump lately, because I’m so tired of the gym. My brother is moving out soon, and I’m gonna take over his room as my workout space- perfect for some dvd workouts. Thank you so much!

  4. I have nothing to recommend to you. I work at the gym and don’t use videos (it is too easy to give in at home). Were I into the workout videos those made by Jillian would appeal to me the most. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  5. I like p90X and have been wanting to try Insanity. I also already like Jillian Michaels–I have her 30 Day Shred DVD and would love to try the other 2 you’ve mentioned here.

  6. I’ve done the 30 Day Shred and loved the results. I also think Jillian is super inspiring and like her style, so I’d like to try No More Trouble Zones. I watched Jackie’s show on Bravo, so that would be fun to try also! She seems to be a little more laid back than Jillian 🙂

  7. Pingback: I am not ashamed to say… «

  8. I watch The Biggest Loser religiously and I’ve always wanted to try Jillian’s DVDs, but never have!! I want to try the No More Trouble Zones since, as you say, it’s more focused on weights!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  9. Pingback: Freedom! «

  10. Pingback: Red Curry Coconut Soup «

Leave a Reply

