Red Curry Coconut Soup

Hello friends!

I have been thoroughly enjoying my newly found freedom today (aka not teaching) by being able to 1. make pancakes for breakfast and 2. being able to sit around in my warm apartment all day and do nadda.  I did not make one single plan all day and I loved it.  I did lots of reading , blog surfing, movie watching etc. It was marvelous.

To kick start my morning, as I said, I treated myself to some flour-less oatmeal apple pancakes. These babies are jam packed full of protein and fiber and keep me going the whole morning.  I am a big snacker, but no morning snack is needed after these guys.

Delish!

I did manage to get my butt up off the couch and do a workout…I wasn’t that lazy 😉

After writing about my Top 5 Workout DVDs the other day, I was inspired to go back to my Insanity DVD. Was I crazy? Maybe a little! I decided to just do the fit test portion of the video as I had not done it in so long.  I didn’t keel over in pain, so that’s a good sign.  I think I actually fared quite well.  I lost my stats from me previous fit tests, so  I have nothing to compare this one to, but my body felt strong and I felt good, which is the most important.

I don’t know if I will tackle another Insanity workout tomorrow or if I will switch back to a Jillian vid.  I will just have to see how I am feeling and what mood I am in.

For dinner I made a yumtastic Red Curry Coconut Soup.  I was craving something coconuty as I think I was dreaming about laying on a beach (less than a week!), but I was feeling cold in reality, so decided I needed to make a soup…so this one was born.

This soup is both spicy and creamy.  The red curry gives it a good kick and the coconut milk and lentils make it extra smooth. I adore soup and this one is now at the top of my list.

Red Curry Coconut Soup:

  • 2 onions chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • 1 inch knob of ginger minced

Put these in a pot with a splash of oil.  Cook until the onions are softened.

  • 1 Tbsp. (or more) red curry paste
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. turmeric

Add the spices into the pot.  Cook for one minute or so.

  • 3 large carrots
  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1/2 acorn squash
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1/2 red lentils
  • 2 cups vegetable stock
  • enough water to cover the veggies in the pot

Add the above ingredients to the pot.  Cover and let simmer for about 30 mins, or until everything to cooked through.  Use a submersion blender or regular blender to blend until smooth.  Serve and enjoy!


Happy Monday to you all.

I hope that you have a wonderful start to the new week.

I am off to tuck myself into bed with a book.

luv,

C

10 thoughts on “Red Curry Coconut Soup

  1. HA! I’m planning to make curried carrot soup tomorrow! Tis the season to slurp curry. 🙂

    What book is that? I’m reading Ruth Reich’s “Garlic and Sapphires” now.

Leave a Reply

