On Fire!

My mouth that is.

My mouth is on fire!

In the best of ways, really.

I made an unintentionally really spicy red curry for dinner.  I had bought the spice paste from a local Thai restaurant and was not aware of its spicy power.  I am a big fan of spicy foods, so I did not shy away, but WOW, this curry packed a punch.

I think I tossed in a couple tsp. of paste (I am not one who often measures), so next time I will have to scale back a bit.

Along with the spices went chickpeas, sweet potatoes, red lentils, peppers, mushrooms, onion, lime juice and a bit of honey.  I had not planned on it in the beginning, but I tossed in some milk at the end to tame things a bit.

Luckily, for Adrian and I, I had also made some naan bread…the perfect vehicle to enjoy a curry with and soak up some of the flavor punch.

I adore naan bread.  And it’s so easy to make.  Make your own if you haven’t, I am quite positive you will be pleased with the results.

Other random eats:

Delicious cereal bowl.  Fresh strawberries.  That’s right! Korea actually has strawberries that are in season right now.  How lucky am I! I picked this sweet things up at the market on Sunday.

An anything goes salad.  I was craving everything from strawberries, to sweet potatoes, to chickpeas…so I tossed it all together to make one glorious salad.

One super omelette (almost does not fit on my plate) stuffed with leftover barley pilaf. Mmmm!

And one, words cannot not describe, chocolate strawberry banana soft serve.

I love food.  I love eating.

Hope you had a Happy Monday.

Anyone watching The Bachelor finale tonight?

C.

15 thoughts on “On Fire!

  1. Your naan looks amazing!! Oh man, spicy curry! I remember when I was in Thailand at a restaurant, I had a bit of a teeny tiny pepper but I ended up sweating, with tears rolling down my face and eventually threw up at how spicy it was. Not embarassing at all…..LOL

    Yummy strawberries! I’m jealous!

  2. Lovin’ your Chocolate Banana Strawberry Soft Serve…My mouth is watering…another fabulous way to create a tasty treat in a food processor. I love it, Cara. I’m going to make this for an afternoon snack today.
    Thanks! Enjoy your Tuesday.

  3. I love your conclusion to this post: “I love food. I love eating.” ME TOO! I stayed up till 1:30 a.m. watching all 3 hours of The Bachelor last night. Oops 😦 And I agree, making your own naan is SO worth it!!

    • I know…The Bachelor is such a marathon, but worth it 😉
      I did not really know how to feel about it after watching
      “After the Final Rose;” things sounded a little dicey.
      At least they were being honest.

  4. I’m such a wimp about spicy food…I would have cried! 🙂 Also, your strawberry banana soft serve looks delicious.

    And I’m currently watching the Bachelor…DVRed from last night. I can’t wait for the decision!

  5. I’ve been wanting to make my own Indian food forever now! I love it… even if it does burn the crap out of my mouth haha. I don’t think I’ve ever had Indian without drinking milk 🙂

    • It’s worth it 🙂
      And not all Indian curries have to be really spicy…that’s the
      good thing about making it yourself; you can gauge how spicy to make it
      to suit what you like.

  6. Pingback: Lovin’ Leftovers «

Leave a Reply

