Cambodia

Hello from Vancouver!

I am back in the homeland and I am loving it.  Adrian and I are spending a couple days here in Vancouver to visit my oldest brother and his family and then are carrying on to Ontario.

Our bodies are slowly adjusting to the time change…14 hours is a big change!  I have been able to sleep through the night, mostly, just waking up around 5:00am, which isn’t too too bad.  It just means that I am craving a nap mid-day.

I am going to continue my trip re-cap by touching a bit on Cambodia.

After we left Korea with my parents, we hung out with them for a bit in Thailand (I’ll share that later) and then Adrian and I carried on by ourselves to Cambodia.

Cambodia is a fascinating country with a rich history.

  The sights are so amazing.  I was blown away by the temples in Siem Reap.  I still cannot fathom how these temples were actually built.  The pictures don’t really do them justice, but it gives you a glimpse.  The temples are out of this world.  They were built in the 11th century and they are still solidly standing; pretty cool!

Recognize this one from anywhere? This was them temple used in Tomb Raider.  I actually have not seen the movie or really care about it, but many people venture to this temple for that reason…to channel their inner Lara Croft, or something like that.

Adrian at the top and me at the bottom.  The stairs were soooo steep.  I sort of think that these people from the past were giants, as it was quite difficult for my little legs to climb to the top.

Inside of Angkor Wat; one of the biggest temples.

Precious little girl sitting outside of the temple.

Little guy selling post cards and bracelets.

The one thing that struck me the most about Cambodia is how poor it is.  I was overwhelmed at first by the number of children begging everywhere!  On the street, in the temples, at restaurants; there was a constant barrage of begging children.

It’s hard because you want to help them, but you can’t help everyone.  Also, it’s not always good to support the street children as they (or their parents) are making the choice not to be in school, which is definitely not a good thing.

There are tons of NGOs and other missionaries doing a lot of good things in Cambodia, which is great to see. Rebuilding things one step at a time.

Lots of these guys hanging around the temples…they really like to eat lotus flowers.

Cambodia is one of my favorite countries that we visited, but it was also the saddest.  We took lots of pictures of the killing fields and prisons, but I did not want to share them here.  It was honestly one of the most awful things I have ever seen.  The war and killing that went on in the 1970s and ended in the 80s still rocks the country to this day.

I cannot comprehend how people are capable of such horrific acts.  The images and sights that we witnessed were disgusting, it made me sick to my stomach.  Despite this, it was a good thing to learn about and understand more about the country and why it’s in the state it is now.  I pray for these poor people that they will be able to overcome this awful past.

On a lighter note…

I hope you have all been having a lovely weekend.  Happy long weekend to all you Canadian folks out there.

Love C

15 thoughts on “Cambodia

  1. It looks incredibly beautiful!

    The begging children break my heart. I want to help everyone! We ran into a few kids begging in Jamaica, but nothing on that scale.
    I sponsor a young girl in India (through Children International), and have to remember that I do a lot of good for her, and her family, as well. It’s just hard to resist the little ones!

    ~

    • That’s great…I am sure you are making a world of difference in that little girl’s life.
      I really want to look into sponsoring a child now that I know what a difference it can make.
      Seeing it first hand makes all the difference.

  2. welcome back home! Youre trip looks amazing, such vibrant life and colors. My prayers are always with those kids. I felt the same way when I visited Africa.

      • Oh yeah – she lived on the very very top spire, in a self made (sort of) type of shrine for decades. There are pics of her on the internet going back to the 80’s. She has to be very very old now, but she doesn’t seem to age to much.

  3. Cara I can’t wait to read
    These posts in depth.
    Ironically…. You are in my home of Vancouver right now and I am in Cambodia!!!

    • Are you serious? That is super ironic!
      Whereabouts are you in Cambodia?
      Are you only traveling Cambodia or doing other countries as well?
      Hope you are having a great time!

  4. Incredible photos. Really looks amazing. Also, that little girl sitting outside the temple is gorgeous.

    On a sadder note, I didn’t know about the killing field until reading this post. I googled it and learned a lot. Completely heart breaking. I’m not sure how I’ve never heard of this, but it really is tragic.

  5. I’m glad you had such a great experience in Cambodia – despite witnessing all the heartbreak. The children in your photos are so beautiful!

  6. Thanks for sharing this Cara. When I was in college we learned about Cambodia in a human rights class and the whole semester we talked about it and then finally at the end the guy sitting next to me tells us that he was a little boy when and he was from there and survived all the killings. So crazy!

Leave a Reply

