Whole Wheat Oatmeal “Pie Plant” Muffins

Sitting on my porch sipping a sparkling lemonade; I adore lazy sunny Sundays.

Surrounded by my mother’s garden I got contemplating to myself about seasonal ingredients.  I love the summer months for the fresh produce that they bring.  Strawberries, nectarines, peaches, corn; I am so excited to eat you in the upcoming months!

We have a huge amount of rhubarb in our garden right now, so I needed to think of some ways to put it to good use while it’s in its prime.

source

Last week I made some stewed rhubarb with honey and put it on top of greek yogurt (Yum) and the other day I whipped up some yummy oatmeal rhubarb muffins (recipe to follow) and tonight I am going to bake up a dish of rhubarb crumble.

I love rhubarb.  I love it for it’s tartness and all the things that you can do with it.  I had lots of leftover stewed rhubarb, which was great on top of my morning oats.

If you have some rhubarb  kicking around in your garden (or your Mom’s in my case), nab some up and create something delicious.

Whole Wheat Oatmeal “Pie Plant” Muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups chopped, fresh or frozen rhubarb
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 1/2 whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 salt

Directions

In a bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, lemon juice, apple sauce and the vegetable oil.

In another, large bowl, with a fork, mix together the whole wheat flour, brown sugar, rolled oats, cinnamon, baking soda and salt.

Make a “well” in the center of the dry ingredients, and pour the egg mixture in, and stir just until combined.

Gently stir in the chopped rhubarb and let batter rest for about 10 mins.

Spoon the batter into muffin cups or paper lined muffin cups.

Bake in center of oven at 350° F for about 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool muffins in the pan for about 5 minutes, and then remove to a cooling rack.

Makes about 16-18 muffins

Interestingly enough, rhubarb is actually a vegetable, who knew?!

Eat it up (minus the leaves) as rhubarb provides a good source of vitamin C, fiber, and calcium.  Since rhubarb is primarily used for pie, it is also referred to by it’s nickname the “pie plant,” which I think is a cute nickname 🙂

What is your most favorite summer fruit or vegetable??

Hope you are having a marvelous weekend.

Love C

8 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Oatmeal “Pie Plant” Muffins

  1. oh rhubarb.. I love thee… you should (if you haven’t already) make the salad dressing from simply in season… it’s in there somewhere – paired with a salad recipe I think. SO good!

Leave a Reply

